Super over in IPL list: Who bats first in Tata IPL Super Over?

Rishikesh Sharma
|Published April 09, 2022

Super over in IPL list: The SportsRush brings you the list of all the super overs that happened in the Indian Premier League history.

A super over is played when a game ends in a tie i.e. both teams end on the same score. Super overs certainly increase the excitement among fans as a one-over eliminator will be played to decide the winner. The team who wins the super over wins the game as well.

A team that bats 2nd in the normal game will play first in the super over. It is mandatory to play the super over on the very same pitch as the game, and it should be played ten minutes after the end of the first innings. The umpires also stay at the same end as the last over of the 2nd innings.

After the controversial ICC World Cup 2019 final game, a major change was done in the rules of super overs. In that World Cup Final, the super over ended in a tie, and England won the title on the basis of boundaries scored in the normal game. This rule was heavily criticized and a change was made.

In IPL 2022, if a super over ends in a tie, the super over will be played again and again until a winner is decided. Although, this process has to be done in a set time frame. The same thing happened in 2020, where Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab) and Mumbai Indians played two super overs to decide the winner.

Loading embed tweet

Super over in IPL list

The first-ever super over happened between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals in 2009, whereas Rajasthan Royals came out victorious. In 2020, a total of four super overs were played.

S No.MatchYearWinnerVenue
1Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajashtan Royals2009Rajasthan RoyalsCape Town
2Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings2010Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)Chennai
3Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals2013Royal Challengers BangaloreBangalore
4Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore2013Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabad
5Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajashtan Royals2014Rajasthan RoyalsAbu Dhabi
6Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals2015Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)Ahmedabad
7Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians2017Mumbai IndiansRajkot
8Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders2019Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils)Delhi
9Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad2019Mumbai IndiansMumbai
10Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings2020Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils)Dubai
11Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians2020Royal Challengers BangaloreDubai
12Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders2020Kolkata Knight RidersAbu Dhabi
13Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings2020Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)Dubai
14Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals2021Delhi CapitalsChennai

Share this article

About the author

Rishikesh Sharma

Rishikesh Sharma

An engineering graduate and an ardent Sports fan. Rishikesh Sharma is writing about cricket for 3 years now as corporate life didn't suit him. Sourav Ganguly made him fall in love with the game, and players like Brendon McCullum and Gautam Gambhir enhanced it. Apart from cricket, Rishikesh is a huge fan of Liverpool FC. When not watching sports, you will find him riding around Jaipur.

Read more from Rishikesh Sharma