Cover Image for Pro Kabaddi Winners List for All Seasons : Pro Kabaddi Champions List | PKL 2019

Pro Kabaddi Winners List for All Seasons : Pro Kabaddi Champions List | PKL 2019

Gautam Kapoor
|Fri Jul 12 2019

Pro Kabaddi Winners List for All Seasons : TSR presents the list of all the Champions till date of the Pro Kabaddi League ahead of the impending seventh season

The seventh season of the Pro Kabaddi League is almost upon us and the 2019 edition of the world’s biggest kabaddi league promises to be more expansive than ever. The second most watched league in India, the Pro Kabaddi League has taken massive strides in its unprecedented growth over the years.

And what has lead to the showpiece league tasting compelling success is the brand of kabaddi it caters to the boisterous kabaddi ardent population in the country. The birth place of the sport, the Pro Kabaddi League offers the sport’s lovers an intriguing brand of the game, seamlessly blending in worldclass players with a riveting strategy and acumen of the game.

Today 12 team strong with colossal amounts of money being pumped into the league, the PKL is continuing with the same method which has seen it emulate the same level of success year in and year out. Teams are stronger than ever with players being accorded massive paydays as the 12 franchisees left no stone unturned to rope in their ideal players to put their strongest foot forward for the revered trophy.

What has further ensured that the league doesn’t stagnate is the fact that the identity of the winners has kept changing with each passing year. It has ensured that the level of competitiveness and feistiness in the tournament has always touched the pinnacle, something the 2018 edition saw as well with the Bengaluru Bulls defeating Gujarat Fortunegiants to lift their first ever title.

Ahead of the 2019 instalment of PKL, we take a look at all the previous winners of the marquee event along with how the final shaped up each year. 

Pro Kabaddi Season 1 Winner: Jaipur Pink Panthers

Second Place: U Mumba

Final Score: 35-24

They entered the final of their season by topping their group to take on U Mumba in the summit clash and Jaipur Pink Panthers ensured their strong run continued in the final as well. In what was an extremely one-sided encounter, the Panthers emerged winners by 11 points with Maninder Singh and Rohit Rana starring for them.

Pro Kabaddi Season 2 Winner: U Mumba

Second Place: Bengaluru Bulls

Final Score: U Mumba Won By 6 Points

Avenging a dejecting final in the first season of the tournament, U Mumba once again made it all the way to the final but endured a more fortuitous result this time around. Topping their group, they faced off against Bengaluru Bulls in the last match of the season, winning it by 6 points with their strong raiding strength ensuring they were finally able to lift the trophy in their second attempt.

Pro Kabaddi Season 3 Winner: Patna Pirates

Second Place: U Mumba

Final Score: 31-28

Deepak Narwal ensured that Patna Pirates won against U Mumba in the final with a 31-28 scoreline seeing Patna emerge as the winners. The raider emerged as his side’s finest player to take them to a win after the Pirates had topped their group.

Pro Kabaddi Season 4 Winner: Patna Pirates

Second Place: Jaipur Pink Panthers

Final Score: 37-29

With Pradeep Narwal and Deepak Narwal in their side, the final match of the tournament saw the Pirates win by 8 points against the Jaipur Pink Panthers. The attacking side of their game saw them register a 37-29 win with Jaipur failing to put on the needed defensive display.

Pro Kabaddi Season 5 Winner: Patna Pirates

Second Place: Gujarat Fortune Giants

Final Score: 55-38

This was a much finer season for the Pirates as they went onto build on what was already an extremely strong unit. Adding the services of some of the most stellar players in the circuit, the side took on Gujarat Fortunegiants in the last match of the tournament, imbedding one of the most sublime performances in a final till date. 

In what was the most lopsided summit clash till date, Gujarat were decimated by the most scintillating attacking display in the season. Reverberating the same consummate attacking displays which had seen him emerge as the best raider in the tournament, Pradeep Narwal went onto shatter new records in a defining season for him to lead his side to a win with the 19 points in the final. The 55-38 scoreline was as comprehensive as they come about in such pivotal encounters with the Pirates going onto lift their third consecutive trophy. 

Pro Kabaddi 2018 Season 6 Winner Bengaluru Bulls

Second Place: Gujarat Fortunegiants

Final Score: 38-33

Patna Pirates dominance and tighthold over the tournament was finally broken by the Bengaluru Bulls who went onto lift their first title in the land of the Pro Kabaddi League. In what was undoubtedly one of the most tricky and tough seasons in the tournament, Gujarat Fortunegiants ended up being unlucky for the second time running.

Putting in a stalwart display across their league stage matches, Gujarat went into the final touted as firm favourites to lift the glistening trophy on the second time of asking. It wasn’t to be so unfortunately for them yet again. In arguably the most closely contested final from the bedlam of PKL, Gujarat were putdown once again, falling by the smallest of margins with the 5 points separating them for the trophy in the end.

Also Read : Top 10 Raiders for Pro Kabaddi 2018 to watch in 2019

About the author
Gautam Kapoor

Gautam Kapoor

Pouring perusal into the sports and cricketing fraternity by traversing through a plethora of issues, developments, players and teams. Scouring and imbibing all the disciplines and verticals of sports to hearld in a seamless blend of articles that intertwine engrossing reports and matches.

Read more from Gautam Kapoor