Cover Image for BREAKING: BCCI nominates MS Dhoni for Padma Bhushan, India’s 3rd highest Civilian honour

BREAKING: BCCI nominates MS Dhoni for Padma Bhushan, India’s 3rd highest Civilian honour

Utkarsh Bhatla
|Wed Sep 20 2017

MS Dhoni’s contribution to Indian Cricket has been immense. From stringing a young team and taking them to helm of the T20 Cricket world in 2007 to hitting that iconic six at the Wankhede and bringing home the World Cup in 2011; MS Dhoni has achieved a lot in his cricketing career.

At a time when India was reeling from the scars of the 2007 World Cup, and there was no leader from the current crop who looked like taking up the reigns for a long time, BCCI turned to MSD. He gleefully accepted the responsibility and started wielding his magic over Indian cricket. And he hasn’t stopped yet.

Today he adds another feather to his cap, after being nominated for the Padma Bhushan by the BCCI.

The Padma Bhushan is the 3rd highest civilian honour and if Dhoni is conferred with it he’ll become only the 11th Indian cricketer to receive the award.

BCCI has decided to send in only name this year and it was unanimously decided that MS Dhoni’s name should be put forth.

“Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been nominated by the BCCI for the Padma Bhushan award. There was no doubt among the members that Dhoni has impeccable credentials. Two World titles (2011 50-over World Cup and 2007 World T20), nearly 10,000 runs, 90 Test matches. There is no one better than him, who could have been nominated,” a senior BCCI official told PTI.

MS Dhoni has already been a recipient of the Arjuna Award, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and the Padma Shri. A Padma Bhushan this year could mark another jewel in an already satisfying and glorious career.

Dhoni recently reached the landmark of having scored 50 International half-centuries and would be itching to prove his mettle in the ongoing Australian ODI series.

Other notable cricketers who have won the Padma Bhushan:

Sachin Tendulkar
Sunil Gavaskar
Kapil Dev
Chandu Borde
Lala Amarnath
Rahul Dravid
DB Deodhar
CK Nayudu
Raja Bhalindra Singh
Vijaya Anand

About the author