mobile app bar

199 runs out batsman: Full list of batsmen dismissed on 199 in Test cricket

Dixit Bhargav

199 runs out batsman: Full list of batsmen dismissed on 199 in Test cricket

199 runs out batsman: The former Sri Lankan captain missed out on his second Test double century by the barest of margins.

During the second day of the first Test of the ongoing Sri Lanka’s tour of Bangladesh in Chattogram, former Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews missed out on his second Test double century by just a run.

Mathews, who had completed his 12th Test century on Day 1, returned back to the dressing room after scoring 199 (397) with the help of 19 fours and a six. Mathews was the last Sri Lankan batter to be dismissed in the first innings as his attempt to slog Bangladesh spinner Nayeem Hasan went completely in vain.

Mathews’ unwanted feat has made him the 12th batter to be dismissed on 199 in Test cricket. Only the second Sri Lankan batter to do so, Mathews is also the second batter to get out on 199 against Bangladesh but the first-ever to do so in Bangladesh.

It is worth mentioning that former Zimbabwe captain Andy Flower and former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara are the only two batters who have scored 199* (not out) in Test cricket. While Flower had done the same against South Africa in Harare in 2001, Sangakkara had scored 199* against Pakistan in Galle a decade ago.

Mathews, who resumed his innings from overnight score of 114*, put together a 136-run fifth-wicket partnership alongside another former captain in Dinesh Chandimal (66). Mathews’ maiden Test century against and in Bangladesh and fourth at No. 4 played a pivotal role in Sri Lanka scoring 397 in 153 overs.

199 runs out batsman in Test cricket full list

Mudassar Nazar199408PakistanIndiaFaisalabad1984
Mohammad Azharuddin199IndiaSri LankaKanpur1986
Matthew Elliott199351AustraliaEnglandLeeds1997
Sanath Jayasuriya199226Sri LankaIndiaColombo1997
Steve Waugh199376AustraliaWest IndiesBridgetown1999
Younis Khan199336PakistanIndiaLahore2006
Ian Bell199336EnglandSouth AfricaLord’s2008
Steven Smith199361AustraliaWest IndiesKingston2015
KL Rahul199311IndiaEnglandChennai2016
Dean Elgar199388South AfricaBangladeshPotchefstroom2018
Faf du Plessis199276South AfricaSri LankaCenturion2020
Angelo Mathews199397Sri LankaBangladeshChattogram2022

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article