Most 400 in ODI by a team full list: Which team most 400 runs in ODI innings?

Dixit Bhargav
|Published 24/01/2023

It wouldn’t be wrong to say that India missed out an opportunity of touching the 400-run mark in the ongoing third ODI against New Zealand in Indore. Having eventually settled for 385/9 in 50 overs after being asked to bat first by New Zealand captain Tom Latham, India would’ve become the first-ever team to post seven 400+ innings totals in the history of ODI cricket had they not fell short by 15 runs today.

A primary reason why India should have touched the aforementioned mark is because of opening batters Rohit Sharma (101) and Shubman Gill (112) scoring individual centuries in a thumping 157-ball 212-run partnership.

With the pair hitting boundaries with total ease, India had scored at a run rate of more than 8 in the first 20 overs. Such an impact-generating start to an innings should have been converted into an innings total of more than 400 runs in the general run of things.

That being said, it wasn’t to be as the home team lost its first five batters within 81 runs before the start of the third powerplay. Vice-captain Hardik Pandya (54) hit three fours and as many sixes to still power the Indian innings total in vicinity of the 400-run mark.

Readers must note that a total of six teams have been able to achieve this feat in this format. Although England’s white-ball dominance has seen them scoring the Top Three highest ODI innings totals, both South Africa and India lead the below mentioned list on the back of registering six 400+ innings totals thus far.

South Africa, who had secured a proper lead at one point in time in this aspect, haven’t been able to touch the 400-run mark since 2015. Australia, first team to do the same 16 years ago, have been able to repeat their feat just once since then.

Most 400 in ODI by a team full list

South Africa439/2West IndiesWanderers2015
438/4IndiaWankhede Stadium2015
418/5ZimbabweSedgars Park2006
411/4IrelandManuka Oval2015
408/5West IndiesSydney Cricket Ground2015
India418/5West IndiesHolkar Stadium2011
414/7Sri LankaSaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium2009
413/5BermudaQueen’s Park Oval2007
409/8BangladeshShere Bangla National Stadium2022
404/5Sri LankaEden Gardens2014
401/3South AfricaCaptain Roop Singh Stadium2010
England498/4NetherlandsVRA Ground2022
481/6AustraliaTrent Bridge2018
444/3PakistanTrent Bridge2016
418/6West IndiesNational Cricket Stadium2019
408/9New ZealandEdgbaston2015
Sri Lanka443/9NetherlandsVRA Ground2006
411/8IndiaSaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium2009
Australia434/4South AfricaWanderers2006
417/6AfghanistanWestern Australia Cricket Association Ground2015
New Zealand402/2IrelandMannofield Park2008

About the author
Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav