mobile app bar

Cricket World Cup Commentators : ICC announces list of all the Commentators for World Cup 2019

Gautam Kapoor

Cricket World Cup Commentators : ICC announces list of all the Commentators for World Cup 2019

 ICC ODI Cricket World Cup Commentators: ICC release their expansive list of 24 commentators with 3 Indian names included in the foray

Releasing a delectable video, the International Cricket Council announced its 24 member list for the prestigious commentary roles in the upcoming ODI Cricket World Cup. In what was an exhilarating announcement by cricket’s governing council, three Indian commentators have been included into the esteemed panel as well.

In the much awaited release, the facet is made up of some iconic names along with some new stalwart entrants who’ve received tutelage under the some of the biggest names in the cricketing fraternity. Considered as one of the pinnacle of a commentator’s career, being inducted into the squad by the ICC for the ODI World Cup is held in massive reverence.

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2019 Commentators

Leading the ranks will be Ian Bishop, Michael Atherton, Alison Mitchell and Ian Smith, people who have across a substantial amount of time engrossed viewers with their captivating brand of comminatory. Known for their plethora of knowledge of the game as well as intertwining emotions seamlessly into their narration of matches, the quartet is backed up by some of the most revered and respected cricketers to have successfully plied their goods on the international stage.

From India, the three faces included are those of Harsha Bhogle, Sourav Ganguly and Sanjay Manjrekar. In an expansive list that features names from every major cricketing playing country, former Australian World Cup-winning captain Michael Clarke and Michael Slater besides two Pakistanis in Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja also find themselves inducted.

From Sri Lanka (Kumar Sangakkara), Zimbabwe (Pommie Mbangwa) and Bangladesh (Athar Ali Khan) are also there. West Indies sees Michael Holding and Ian Bishop, beckoning from England are cricketers Michael Atherton, Nasser Hussain and Ian Ward while New Zealand also heavily dominates with a trio in cricketers Simon Doull, Ian Smith and Brendon McCullum. Former South Africa captains Graeme Smith and Shaun Pollock will complete the male contingent of the panel.

Also Read : ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Venues

In its unnerving efforts to promote women’s cricket and help it reach the echelons of viewership, the ICC has also roped in 3 female commentators. English commentator Alison Mitchell will be leading the mantle alongside former England cricketer Isha Guha and former Australia cricketer Mel Jones.

All commentators will be taking up charge of their duties starting May 30 when hosts England will take on South Africa at the Kennington Oval in the colossal tournament’s opener. The Star Sports network has shelled out a staggering amount of $1.8 billion to acquire the television rights for the event and will be broadcasting all the matches on Star Sports 1,2,Seclect HD 1,Hindi/HD on all its channels in India in both English and Hindi commentary. In an unprecedented move, all warm-up matches will also be broadcasted by the channel.

The rampant move is just part of one of the many compelling gameplan the ICC has in place for pushing the envelope and making this edition of the world cup a truly wordclass one. And they’ve begun with getting the commentators just right for the 46 day event.

The Indian contingent will get their campaign underway on June 5th at 3:30pm IST from the Rose Bowl, Southampton against South Africa under the leadership of Virat Kohli.

Full list of ICC commentators for World Cup 2019:

 Nasser Hussain, Michael Clarke, Ian Bishop, Sourav Ganguly, Melanie Jones, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Atherton, Alison Mitchell, Brendon McCullum, Graeme Smith, Wasim Akram, Shaun Pollock, Michael Slater, Mark Nicholas, Michael Holding, Isa Guha, Pommie Mbangwa, Sanjay Manjrekar, Harsha Bhogle, Simon Doull, Ian Smith, Ramiz Raja, Athar Ali Khan and Ian Ward.

Also Read : 2019 ICC World Cup Umpires

About the author

Share this article