The fake fielding law has left everyone from the cricket fraternity perplexed, as the law has too many loose ends that need greater conviction, if it plans on existing for a longer period in the cricketing world.
The law was again discussed today in the 2nd ODI between India and Sri Lanka, when MS Dhoni attempted a ‘no-look’ runout in the 11th over, letting the ball pass through his legs, while initially lining up to catch the ball that was thrown to him from the outfield.
The fake fielding rule, which came into effect from October 2017, provides the batting team with 5 penalty runs, if any of the fielders attempt to dupe the batsman by faking the collection of the ball and/or throwing it and preventing the batsman from taking/completing a run.
But in the incident that took place today, MS Dhoni did not actually breach the law in any way, as the law states that ‘fielders were deliberately pretending to have the ball as a means of fooling the batsmen, thereby preventing them from taking further runs’, and Dhoni was not in the possession of the ball at any instant, hence five penalty runs were not awarded.
India won the second ODI in emphatic fashion with Rohit Sharma scoring a masterclass 200 at Mohali. The two teams will lock horns in Vizag for the 3rd and final ODI on Sunday