In today’s day and age, many people feel that is a crime to bowl a no-ball, as the repercussions could be quite heavy for the fielding side.
We saw another incident last night, as Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed David Miller of a no-ball. The South African played all over the ball and missed it completely, but was relieved to see Chahal over-stepping the crease on the big screen.
It was that the stroke of luck that Miller needed, as the South African played a crucial innings which turned the tide, and eventually was crucial in their victory.
Here we look at three instances in which a no-ball cost India the match in recent history!
2016 T20 World Cup – Ravi Ashwin vs West Indies
After posting a huge 192 on the board, India must have fancied their chances of heading into their second consecutive World T20 final.
That belief strengthened after Jasprit Bumrah dismissed the great Chirs Gayle in the first over, as the Wankhede roared in delight.
Ashwin then dismissed Lendl Simmons for 18, as India seemed to be coasting to victory, only for the umpires to halt the celebrations.
The umpires went upstairs to check if the delivery was a legal one, as they were not sure about where Ashwin had planted his foot. Their doubts were proved right, as Ashwin has over-stepped the bowling crease, and gave Simmons a reprieve.
It proved to be a costly one, as Simmons smashed an unbeaten 82 to dump India out of the World T20.
2016 T20 World Cup – Hardik Pandya vs West Indies
India shot themselves in the foot not once, but twice in that semi-final against West Indies. After Ashwin over-stepped and gave Simmons a reprieve, the West Indian got one more life when he was batting on 50.
Simmons smashed a full-toss straight to Ashwin at cover, and started heading back to the pavilion before he was called back by the umpires.
Luckily for the West Indian, Pandya had also over-stepped the bowling crease, as Simmons incredibly got one more life.
And he most definitely made the most of it!
2017 Champions Trophy – Jasprit Bumrah vs Pakistan
This one will surely haunt Indian fans for a very long time, as Jasprit Bumrah’s no-ball in the Champions Trophy final was one of the turning points in the match.
Bumrah dismissed Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman early on in the match, before replays showed that the fast bowler had over-stepped the crease.
It proved to be very costly, as Zaman scored a brilliant century and helped Pakistan post a huge 338 in the first innings.
It was simply too much for India, as they were bowled out for 158, and lost the match by 180 runs.