WATCH: Fan posts video of MS Dhoni getting out on no-ball in 2019 World Cup semi-final vs New Zealand
|Wed Jul 10 2019
MS Dhoni getting out on no-ball: The Indian wicket-keeper batsman’s dismissal has come under the scanner with a video going viral on Twitter.
During the first semi-final of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between India and New Zealand at Old Trafford, former India captain and current wicket-keeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni was seen getting run-out in the penultimate over.
With India needing 24 runs off nine balls after his dismissal, it ended up becoming too much for the lower-order batsmen to score. Therefore, as anticipated, Dhoni’s dismissal had put an end to all hopes of India winning the match.
In a shocking development, a fan has posted video of Dhoni getting dismissed on a no-ball. Going by an image and a video doing the rounds on social media platform Twitter, New Zealand had kept as many as six fielders outside the inner circle.
It is worth mentioning that only five fielders are allowed outside the inner circle in the third powerplay (41-50 overs). It is visible on the graphic that New Zealand have their sweeper cover, third-man, fine leg, deep square leg, deep mid-wicket and long-on outside the circle.
Going by the graphic, the umpires should have declared the ball as a no-ball. It is also worth mentioning that Dhoni got run-out which is allowed on a no-ball. If the graphic shown on the screen is correct, there was a certain error on the part of the umpires.
That being said, a free-hit wouldn’t have changed the course of the match for India especially in Dhoni’s absence. Before getting out, Dhoni scored his 73rd ODI half-century, 50 (72) with the help of one four and one six.
MS Dhoni getting out on no-ball:
— Cricket 🏏 (@CrichdC) July 10, 2019
— Karan Gurjar (@Gurjar077) July 10, 2019
How Twitter reacted on Dhoni’s dismissal on a no-ball:
It seems correct based on the fielding graphic displayed on the screen.
— Mohandas Menon (@mohanstatsman) July 10, 2019
— Sandy (@Sandy44795403) July 10, 2019
— Ravi Verma (@ravimverma) July 10, 2019
Did the umpires really miss the 6 fielders outside the circle on the ball Dhoni was dismissed? It was a no- ball🧐🧐 pic.twitter.com/F69WFdCC9z
— sunny (@sahilgoswami) July 10, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.