Maxwell breaches fake fielding rule: The Australian all-rounder’s act could have resulted in a five-run penalty for his team.
During the second ODI of the ongoing Australia’s tour of India at Nagpur, Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell was witnessed breaching the ‘fake fielding’ rule in the first innings. Luckily for him, his act remained unnoticed by the umpire.
Had the umpires taken notice of the same or had the batsmen pointed out Maxwell’s actions, the Australian team were liable to get a five-run penalty.
It all happened on the third delivery of the 42nd over when India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja stepped out to an Australia fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile’s delivery. With Jadeja hitting the ball towards the backward point region, it went towards Maxwell who was fielding at that position.
Fake fielding from Maxwell there. #INDvAUS
— Dan Liebke (@LiebCricket) March 5, 2019
Was that fake fielding by Maxwell?
— Sameer (@Notacrickethack) March 5, 2019
In a bid to stop the ball, Maxwell dived to his right. With him not being able to stop the ball, he made a gesture as if he had the ball in his hand and was throwing it towards the wicket-keeper’s end.
Maxwell’s gestures didn’t have any affect on the Indian pair of Jadeja and captain Virat Kohli as both of them continued to run between the wickets. However, the 30-year old Australia would be looking to be more careful about the same in the future.
Jadeja’s run-out…the moment that changed the game for me. #IndvAus
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) March 5, 2019
Hello guys I would like to inform you all that my old instagram account in use now @Royalnavghan.love you❤️🙏🏻
— Ravindrasinh jadeja (@imjadeja) March 6, 2019
Maxwell violated Law 41.5
Maxwell had violated law 41.5 of the International Cricket Council’s Code of Conduct. The law deals with “deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of a batsman”. It states, “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”
That being said, the law further mentions that it is up to the on-field umpires to decide whether a fielder’s actions were deliberate to be considered under the fake rule law. “It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not,” the law further states.
Watch the full video below:
— Dhoni Fan (@WastingBalls) March 6, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.