#2 VAR at fault once again
Ever since video assistant referee has been introduced in the game, it has always been around controversies. This time it once again comes under question, after Borussia Dortmund were denied penalty retake.
Barcelona conceded a penalty after Nelson Semedo fouled Jadon Sancho inside the penalty area. Therefore, Marco Reus stepped up to take the penalty against Marc Andre Ter Stegen.
The German midfielder shot the ball, which was spectacularly stopped by Ter Stegen, and even the follow-through was thwarted by the German goalkeeper.
However, in a replay it was shown that Ter Stegen made an error, as according to the new rules, a goalkeeper cannot step outside the goal-line before the penalty taker kicks the ball, but Stegen was clearly spotted stepping out of the line. Hence, it should have been re-taken.
The main referee missed this violation by Stegen but this was under the jurisdiction of VAR, and it should have stopped the play. But, it did not make an action, hence questioning the efficiency of VAR, which eventually helped Barcelona.