Chris Gayle umpire controversy: Mitchell Starc bowls a huge No-Ball which goes unnoticed and eventually robs Gayle of his wicket
The ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 match between Australia and West Indies has been a one full of action. While we witnessed two splendid catches from Shai Hope and Sheldon Cottrell in the first innings, coupled with a scintillating knock from a fast bowler (Nathan Coulter Nile), this recent one is the last thing our beautiful game wanted.
It all happened during the 4th delivery of the 5th over in the second innings. Chris Gayle had was still at the crease courtesy the two reviews which saved him. Just as it looked that the Goddess of Fortune was smiling on Gayle, a massive umpiring blunder cost the 39-year-old his wicket.
The 4th delivery bowled by Starc was a huge No-Ball which due to some unknown reason went unnoticed by the on-field umpire- Chris Gaffaney. Since it went unnoticed, the replays did not surface post the delivery.
But, what happened the next delivery would have absolutely gutted Gayle. He was given out Leg-before by the umpire, after which he took his third review within a span of 2 overs! But, this time he was had to leave the field, as the ball clipped the stumps, as was evident in the ball-tracking and the original decision (which was OUT) was upheld.
Gayle was visibly very disappointed after he was adjudged out by the umpire, Chris Gaffaney, as the ball had just clipped the stumps.
WATCH Chris Gayle expressing his disappointed after adjudged OUT by the umpire:
What added salt to the Southpaw’s wounds was that the previous delivery prior his dismissal was a huge No-Ball (the one which went unnoticed) and the delivery in which he got out would (and should) have been a Free-Hit.
The umpiring standard thus, drooped to an all time low, as it is simply unforgivable to have made such a massive blunder in a World Cup game.
WATCH Mitchell Starc’s huge No-Ball going unnoticed:
The wicket of the Windies veteran, has put the team in some spot of bother. Chasing a decent score of 288, Jason Holder and Co. were in quite some trouble as, at the time of writing, they had lost 3 wickets with only 99 runs on the board in 20 overs. However, since the West Indian batting is deep enough, they would still believe they could chase this through.