CPL 2016: Every thing that you need to know

Utkarsh Bhatla
|Published 29/06/2016

CPL 2016

No matter how much the purists blame T20s, it has definitely made the cricketing world come closer. Players from different nationalities have been given the opportunity to play with each other, something that has helped raise the camaraderie between international stars on and off the pitch.

And who can forget the exposure and the platform that youngsters from the host nation get by getting to compete with and against some of the biggest names in international cricket.

Also, players have developed skills that they otherwise wouldn’t have, which have in turn helped in making the game more challenging and more skillful.

Gayle could light up CPL 2016
Gayle could light up CPL 2016

The CPL 2016 promises to offer all this and much more. This article will tell you about everything that you need to know about the CPL 2016, from teams and players to venues and timings.

What is the CPL? How many teams?

For Indian cricket fans, the CPL 2016 is West Indies’ IPL. It’s a 39 day long tournament, consisting of 6 teams from Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis and Jamaica.

Also Read: England vs Sri Lanka- Preview and Moneyball9 Fantasy tips

West Indies has been the most prolific T20 international team, boasting of some of the biggest stars and legends of the T20 format. Combine that with some local budding talent and a host of other international stars and you’ll get the high voltage Caribbean Premier League.

The final will be played on August 7th. Do tune into a month long cricket celebration.

When does it start?

The CPL T20 starts on June 30th 6:30 A.M IST (June 29th 9:00 P.M. Local time) with Trinbago Knight Riders taking on St. Lucia Zouks at the Queens Park Oval in Port of Spain



  • Barbados Tridents
  • Guyana Amazon Warriors
  • Jamaica Tallawahs
  • St Kitts and Nevis Patriots
  • St Lucia Zouks
  • Trinbago Knight Riders

Read on for information on these teams; the squad, the captain, home ground, Key Players and Trump Cards for CPL 2016


Barbados Tridents(CPL 2016)

maxresdefault (11)

Squad- Kieron Pollard, AB de Villiers, Shoaib Malik, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese, Robin Peterson, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Wayne Parnell, Akeal Hosein, Imran Khan, Kyle Hope, Navin Stewart, Kyle Corbin, Steven Taylor, Shamar Springer

Captain: Keiron Pollard

Home Ground: Kensington Oval

Coach- Robin Singh

5 Key Stars– ABD, Keiron Pollard, David Weise, Jason Holder, Shoaib Malik

Trump Card: Wayne Parnell and Ashley Nurse

Guyana Amazon Warriors


Squad- Martin Guptill (captain), Sohail Tanvir, Dwayne Smith, Chris Lynn, Devendra Bishoo, Rayad Emrit, Adam Zampa, Jason Mohammed, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Orlando Peters, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Steven Katwaroo, Ali Khan, Shimron Hetmyer

Captain– Martin Guptill

Home Ground- Providence Stadium

Coach– Roger Harper

5 Key Stars- Martin Guptill, Dwayne Smith, Chris Lynn, Devendra Bishoo, Sohail Tanvir

 Trump Card- Adam Zampa

Jamaica Tallawahs


Squad- Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Imad Wasim, Dale Steyn, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Alex Ross, Kesrick Williams, Nkrumah Bonner, Garey Mathurin, Timroy Allen, O’shane Thomas

Captain- Chris Gayle

Home Ground- Sabina Park

Coach– Paul Nixon

5 Key Stars- Chris Gayle, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Dale Steyn, Kumar Sangakkara

Trump Card– Imad Wasim


St Kitts and Nevis Patriots


Squad- Lendl Simmons, Faf du Plessis , Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite, Brad Hodge, Thisara Perera, Jonathan Carter, Krishmar Santokie, Evin Lewis, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kieran Powell, JJ Smuts, Devon Thomas, Shamarh Brooks, Tino Best, Jeremiah Louis, Nikhil Dutta, Alzarri Joseph

Captain- Faf Du Plessis

Home Ground– Warner Park

Coach– Eric Simmons

5 Key Stars- Faf Du Plessis, Lendl Simmons, Carlos Braithwaite, Samuel Badree, Thisara Perera

Trump Card- Tabraiz Shamsi

St. Loucia Zouks


Squad- David Miller, Shane Watson, Darren Sammy, Michael Hussey, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Morne Morkel, Denesh Ramdin, Derone Davis, Grant Elliott, Kristopher Ramsaran, Shane Shillingford, Delorn Johnson, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, Nitish Kumar, Gidron Pope

Captain- Darren Sammy

Home Ground- Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium

Coach– Stuart Williams

5 Key Stars- Shane Watson, David Miller, Michael Hussey, Darren Sammy, Morne Morkel

Trump Card- Andre Fletcher and Johnson Charles

Trinbago Knight Riders

hqdefault (1)

Squad- Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla, Umar Akmal, Kevon Cooper, Sulieman Benn, Colin Munro, Anton Devcich, Ronsford Beaton, Nikita Miller, Javon Searles, William Perkins, Yannick Cariah, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Hamza Tariq, Anderson Phillip

Captain- Dwayne Bravo

Home Ground– Queen’s Park Oval

Coach– Simon Helmot

5 Key Stars– Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Hashim Amla, Umar Akmal

Trump Card– Colin Munro and Kevon Cooper

With so many international and West Indian stars on display this year’s CPL promises to be the best ever. Do not let the timings of the games be a hindrance, as you might miss out on some of the best cricket of this year.

About the author