mobile app bar

5 wickets in IPL innings: List of five wicket hauls in IPL history

Rishikesh Sharma

5 wickets in IPL innings: List of five wicket hauls in IPL history

5 wickets in IPL innings: The SportsRush brings you the list of five-wicket halls in the history of the Indian Premier League.

The Indian Premier League 2022 is up and running in India, and we have seen some close games in the tournament so far. Rahul Tewatia smashed two sixes in a row against Punjab Kings to earn an emphatic win.

Apart from some excellent batting performances, there have been some brilliant bowling performances as well. Umesh Yadav has been brilliant this season with nine wickets this season, whereas Yuzvendra Chahal has also bowled brilliantly this season.

Taking five wickets in an innings is a special achievement for any bowler and taking it in a T20 game makes it more special. A total of 24 five-wicket halls have been taken in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Pakistan’s pacer Sohail Tanvir took the first five-wicket hall of the Indian Premier League. Tanvir took six wickets against Chennai Super Kings while playing for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2008. Anil Kumble has the record of taking the most economical five-wicket hall where he scalped five wickets by conceding just five runs.

It is interesting to note that there were no five-wicket halls in IPL 2010, 2014 and 2015. Alzarri Joseph took the best spell of IPL in 2019, where he scalped 6 wickets for just 12 runs against the Sunrisers Hyderabad. Harshal Patel, Andre Russel and Arshdeep Singh took the five-wicket hall in IPL 2021.

5 wickets in IPL innings (Updated on May 27, 2023)

Mark Wood scalped the first five-wicket hall of IPL 2023 against Chennai Super Kings playing for Lucknow Super Giants.

S NoPlayerOpponentFiguresYear
1Sohail Tanvir (RR)Chennai Super Kings4-0-14-62008
2L Balaji (CSK)Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)4-0-24-52008
3Amit Mishra (DC)Deccan Chargers4-0-17-52008
4Anil Kumble (RCB)Rajasthan Royals3.1-1-5-52009
5Lasith Malinga (MI)Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils)3.4-1-13-52011
6Harbhajan Singh (MI)Chennai Super Kings4-0-18-52011
7Ishant Sharma (Deccan Chargers)Kochi Tuskers Kerala3-0-12-52011
8Munaf Patel (MI)Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)4-0-21-52011
9Ravindra Jadeja (CSK)Deccan Chargers4-0-16-52012
10Dimitri Mascarenhas (PBKS)Pune Warriors India4-0-25-52012
11Sunil Narine (KKR)Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)4-0-19-52012
12James Faulkner (RR)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-0-20-52013
13Jaydev Unadkat (RCB)Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils)4-0-25-52013
14James Faulkner (RR)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-1-16-52013
15Adam Zampa (RPSG)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-0-19-62016
16Andrew Tye (GL)Rising Pune Supergiants4-0-17-52017
17Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)Punjab Kings (Then Kings XI Punjab)4-0-19-52017
18Jaydev Unadkat (RPSG)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-1-30-52017
19Ankit Rajpoot (PBKS)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-0-14-52018
20Alzarri Joseph (MI)Sunrisers Hyderabad3.4-1-12-62019
21Varun Chakravarthy (KKR)Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils)4-0-20-52020
22Harshal Patel (RCB)Mumbai Indians4-0-27-52021
23Andre Russell (KKR)Mumbai Indians2-0-15-52021
24Arshdeep Singh (PBKS)Rajasthan Royals4-0-32-52021
25Yuzvendra Chahal (RR)Kolkata Knight Riders4-0-40-52022
26Umran Malik (SRH)Gujarat Titans4-0-25-52022
27Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB)Sunrisers Hyderabad4-0-18-52022
28Jasprit Bumrah (MI)Kolkata Knight Riders4-0-10-52022
29Mark Wood (LSG)Chennai Super Kings4-0-14-52023
30Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)Gujarat Titans4-0-30-52023
31Akash Madhwal (MI)Lucknow Super Giants3.3-0-5-52023
32Mohit Sharma (GT)Mumbai Indians2.2-0-10-52023

About the author

Rishikesh Sharma

Rishikesh Sharma


An engineering graduate and an ardent sports fan, Rishikesh Sharma is covering cricket for three years now after not making peace with a corporate life and has written more than 5000 articles. While Sourav Ganguly made him fall in love with the sport, Brendon McCullum and Gautam Gambhir enhanced it. Apart from cricket, Rishikesh is a huge fan of Liverpool FC. When not watching sports, you will find him riding around Jaipur.

Read more from Rishikesh Sharma

Share this article