mobile app bar

BBL highest run chase in Big Bash: Highest run chase in BBL history full list

Dixit Bhargav

BBL highest run chase in Big Bash: Highest run chase in BBL history full list

Hobart Hurricanes might not have won a single Big Bash League title (one of the two teams without a title victory) till date but the lack of a title doesn’t take away from them the fact that they are arguably the most successful chasing team in the history of the tournament.

Not that Hurricanes have registered the highest number of run-chases in the BBL but they have surely registered the Top Four highest successful run-chases in the last 12 years. Only team to have sealed a BBL run-chase in excess of 200, Hobart have done the same on as many as three occasions.

Currently facing Sydney Thunder in BBL 2022-23 Match 22 at the Lavington Sports Oval, HH are not only chasing a 229-run target but also chasing a shot at history for the same would become the highest successful run-chase in the Big Bash (assuming Hobart win tonight).

However, having lost six wickets, Hurricanes have lost a significant advantage of winning their third match of the season. Needing to score at a run rate of more than 14 in the last six overs, Hobart are relying heavily on Pakistan all-rounder Shadab Khan. Although the 24-year old player is capable of playing the big shots, it still will require a herculean solo effort on his part from hereon.

ALSO READ: Highest innings totals in Big Bash League history

A subdued start by the visitors was turned around within no time on the back of captain Matthew Wade’s 24th T20 half-century. Coming in to bat at No. 3 in the third over, Wade smashed a couple of fours and six sixes at a strike rate of 223.33 in his 67 (30).

BBL highest run chase (table updated)

230/319.3Adelaide StrikersHobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval2023
223/820Hobart HurricanesMelbourne RenegadesDocklands Stadium2017
210/719.2Hobart HurricanesBrisbane HeatGabba2013
209/419Hobart HurricanesBrisbane HeatBellerive Oval2015
196/319.1Hobart HurricanesSydney ThunderBellerive Oval2018

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article