India Playing 11 vs Sri Lanka: Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana and Chetan Sakariya handed T20I debuts in 2nd T20I

Dixit Bhargav
|Published July 28, 2021

India Playing 11 vs Sri Lanka: India have made as many as seven changes to their Playing XI for the second T20I in Colombo.

During the second T20I of the ongoing India’s tour of Sri Lanka in Colombo, Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka has won the toss and chose to field.

“This is a used pitch, and it has been under covers, so there might be some early help,” Shanaka was quoted as saying during the toss. 0-1 down in the three-match series, Sri Lanka have made a couple of changes to their Playing XI.

While Sadeera Samarawickrama has replaced Charith Asalanka at No. 3, debutant Ramesh Mendis has been brought in for Ashen Bandara in the middle-order.

India Playing 11 vs Sri Lanka

India, on the other hand, have made as many as seven changes to their Playing XI for this match. The development is a consequence of all-rounder Krunal Pandya testing positive for COVID-19. With eight Indian players recognized as his close contacts, all of them are in isolation and will no longer take part in this series.

As a result, India have handed T20I debuts to batsmen Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Nitish Rana and pacer Chetan Sakariya. Spinners Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav and fast bowler Navdeep Saini are the remaining three players who have been included for the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Loading embed tweet

Sri Lanka Playing XI for 2nd T20I – 1) Avishka Fernando 2) Minod Bhanuka (wk) 3) Sadeera Samarawickrama 4) Dhananjaya de Silva 5) Ramesh Mendis 6) Dasun Shanaka (c) 7) Wanindu Hasaranga 8) Chamika Karunaratne 9) Isuru Udana 10) Dushmantha Chameera 11) Akila Dananjaya

India Playing XI for 1nd T20I – 1) Shikhar Dhawan (c) 2) Ruturaj Gaikwad 3) Devdutt Padikkal 4) Sanju Samson (wk) 5) Nitish Rana 6) Bhuvneshwar Kumar 7) Kuldeep Yadav 8) Rahul Chahar 9) Navdeep Saini 10) Chetan Sakariya 11) Varun Chakravarthy

Share this article

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav