Sharjah Cricket Stadium records in T20Is: Who has scored most runs and picked most wickets in Sharjah?

Dixit Bhargav
|Published 23/10/2021

Sharjah Cricket Stadium records: Sharjah Cricket Stadium has hosted a total of 16 T20Is including two T20 World Cup matches till date.

Two Asian teams in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, who have qualified from Round 1 to Super 12s, will lock horns against each other in the third Group 1 match of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2021 today.

The match will also be the first Super 12 match to be played at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Having already hosted a couple of matches in this World Cup, Sharjah is scheduled to host nine more matches of the league stage.

Considering how Afghanistan had played 12 out of the 14 T20Is in Sharjah before the commencement of this World Cup, it is but obvious for their players to dominate the batting and bowling stats with respect to this venue.

Other than Afghanistan, Kenya and Zimbabwe have played four T20Is each in Sharjah. Scotland, who will be playing their first Super 12 match against Afghanistan here tomorrow, have already featured in three T20Is at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Despite its smaller boundary size, Sharjah had managed to aid the bowlers primarily spinners in the recently concluded Indian Premier League 2021. It will be interesting to see how the pitch here behaves in the World Cup.

Sharjah Cricket Stadium records in T20Is

Most T20I runs at Sharjah Cricket Stadium

S. No.BatterMatchesRunsBestAverageSR100s50s
1Mohammad Shahzad (AFG)12408118*37.0915011
2Mohammad Nabi (AFG)122494624.9145.6100
3Asghar Stanikzai (AFG)9168432198.2500
4Hamilton Masakadza (ZIM)41436335.75118.1800
5Karim Sadiq (AFG)111383412.5510000
6Matt Machan (SCO)31355467.5128.5701
7Samiullah Shinwari (AFG)812839*25.6124.2700
8Najibullah Zadran (AFG)71153819.17108.4900
9Collins Obuya (KEN)411360*37.6796.5801
10Nawroz Mangal (AFG)81013612.63109.7800


Most T20I wickets at Sharjah Cricket Stadium

S. No.BowlerMatchesBallsRunsWicketsAverageEconomySR
1Samiullah Shinwari (AFG)8124111129.255.3710.33
2Mohammad Nabi (AFG)122282261022.65.9522.8
3Hamid Hassan (AFG)6132148818.56.7316.5
4Dawlat Zadran (AFG)483101714.437.311.86
5Amir Hamza (AFG)9156153721.865.8822.29
6Iain Wardlaw (SCO)372102714.578.510.29
7Rashid Khan (AFG)49692615.335.7516
8Shapoor Zadran (AFG)6102113618.836.6517
9Graeme Cremer (ZIM)478906156.9213
10Collins Obuya (KEN)46680613.337.2711

About the author
Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav