C Shamshuddin overturning Joe Root lbw dismissal: The third umpire was once again under the scanner at the Narendra Modi Stadium.
During the second day of the third Test of the ongoing England’s tour of India in Ahmedabad, England captain Joe Root was lucky enough to continue batting despite on-field umpire Anil Chaudhary ruling him out against India all-rounder Axar Patel.
It all happened on the fourth delivery of the 15th over when Root seemed to be wanting in front of the stumps whilst defending a Patel delivery. After being given out, Root was unsure about referring the decision to the third umpire. It was only after a lengthy discussion with his deputy Ben Stokes that he opted for DRS.
Third umpire Chettihody Shamshuddin, who had received severe criticism yesterday for not watching enough angles before coming to a conclusion, was once again under the scanner given the ball’s proximity with the bat and pad at the same time.
Despite looking at multiple angles this time, Shamshuddin couldn’t find as to whether Root had hit the ball or not. Considering how different angles were giving different results, the decision had become all the more complex for the third umpire.
It was only after an elongated delay that Shamshuddin observed enough conclusive evidence to overturn the decision. Unlike yesterday, expert opinions were mixed with respect to the appeal for picking one side of the debate was no mean task.
Root, who had received a reprieve, couldn’t make the most of the opportunity as Patel found him wanting in front of the stumps in the 19th over. Not reviewing a plumb dismissal, Root walked back to the dressing room after scoring 19 (45).
C Shamshuddin overturning Joe Root lbw dismissal
That was one of the hardest 3rd umpire decisions I’ve seen, especially for a big wicket. I really don’t know what I would have done. It was given out, and was there clear evidence to overturn it? 🤷♂️
— Simon Mann (@Cricket_Mann) February 25, 2021
Think Root got away with that one…
— Sambit Bal (@sambitbal) February 25, 2021
Massive talking point. Didn’t think it was conclusive to overturn, even if the decision was correct. How influential was yesterday’s ‘complaint’ from the England management for this decision you wonder.
— Sreshth Shah (@sreshthx) February 25, 2021
Interesting. 3rd umpire goes in Root’s favour. According to Swann commentating, Root said he didn’t hit it!
— John Etheridge (@JohnSunCricket) February 25, 2021
Will England complain about umpiring or will they argue with umpires anymore??? Huh!
— Boria Majumdar (@BoriaMajumdar) February 25, 2021
For more cricket-related news, click here.