Gareth Bale has scored one of the wonder goals, but it was ruled out.
Real Madrid travelled to Paris to kick off their Champions League campaign. They started the game on a higher ante, but an early mistake proved costly when Juan Bernat won the ball.
The Spanish International picked out Angel Di Maria inside the penalty box. The Argentinian found the back of the net for the first time with a thumping strike. It was followed by another ferocious shot from outside the box.
PSG’s number 11 struck the ball firm to find the corner of the goalpost and extend the lead.
In the 34th minute, Gareth Bale received a long ball from a Real Madrid defender. The Welsh International controlled the ball and shifted it to his right side and audaciously chipped the ball over goalkeeper Keylor Navas.
PSG defenders were pointing out the usage of hand after the ball crept inside the back of the net. The replay suggested Bale using his hand while shifting to another side of the defender – ruling out the goal.
Gareth Bale just scored this sensational goal only for it to be disallowed by the VAR.
What a goal that would have been! 🔥
— Football HQ (@FootbaII_HQ) September 18, 2019
This is utter filth from Gareth Bale, however it was ruled out by VAR because of a handball.
Will this go down as one of the greatest goals not given?🤭🤯 pic.twitter.com/9AJQGl3lQJ
— “ (@labeledsocial) September 18, 2019
In the stoppage time of the second half, the hosts scored their third goal in a counter-attack through the right-back Thomas Meunier. The whole team was higher up the pitch in the hopes of cutting the deficit to one and hoped to get something out of the game. But, they were beaten by the h0sts, who were all over Real Madrid in front of the home crowd.