Indian opening batsman and part of the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise in the IPL, Shikhar Dhawan made a silly error to gift his wicket in the 2nd T20I between India and England.
After India thrashed England by 9 wickets in the first T20I, things were heavily skewed in India’s favour as the caravan moved to the Sophia gardens in Cardiff.
England won the toss and decided to field first Hence, India were pit in to bat and the regular opening pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma came out to bat. In the first over that David Willey bowled, the ball moved around a bit.
As it is, Cardiff is not famous for big scores. The average score at the ground is 140 odd and no team has ever made 200 in T20Is at the venue. It was evident soon when Rohit Sharma miscued a pull shot ofg Jake Ball as the ball went straight up in the air. Wicketkeeper Jos Buttler did not make any mistake as he safely pouched the ball.
KL Rahul came out to bat at Number 3 in this match as well. Soon Shikhar Dhawan mistimed a shot as the ball hit the inside edge and ricocheted towards the infield.
Dhawan was a little slow to get off the blocks and as he finally managed to reach the non striker’s end, he could not maintain his grip on the bat. The bat slipped from his hand and he could not ground the bat. Eoin Morgan was successful in whipping off the bails.
— Utkarsh Bhatla (@UtkarshBhatla) July 6, 2018
The appeal was referred to the third umpire. As it turned out, Dhawan was actually short of the crease and was adjudged out by the third umpire.