Mitchell Marsh’s fun moment: The Australian all-rounder was seen sharing a fun moment with umpire Chris Gaffaney today.
During the fourth day of the second Test of the ongoing India’s tour Australia at Perth, Australia all-rounder Mitchell Marsh shared a funny moment with umpire Chris Gaffaney as the Australian team entered the ground for the fourth innings of the match.
Marsh, who is in the Australian squad but not in the playing XI for this match, was on the ground as a substitute fielder. Just as the Australian players had reached the pitch, Marsh removed his baggy green and offered it to the umpire, a custom performed by the bowler who is slated to bowl the first over.
Signalling with his right-arm, Marsh seemed to have a go on a wicket which had made life hell for the batsmen. However, him not in the playing XI resulted the whole act in laughter for both him and the umpire.
Watch the full video below:
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) December 17, 2018
After not been included in the team for the first Test at Adelaide, Marsh was released from the Australian squad to play for Western Australia in their Sheffield Shield encounter against Victoria at Melbourne.
Leading his team, Marsh batted at No. 4 in both the innings. However, returns of 21 and 11 were something which wouldn’t have impressed the team management. With the ball in hand, Marsh registered match figures of 1-102.
Talking about the ongoing match, Australia have removed half of India’s batting line-up. Needing 175 runs to win the match on a difficult, the visitors are all but out of the contest. The Australian team and fans would be hoping for their bowlers to bundle out the opposition without any other twist in this already riveting match.
Read some of the latest Twitter reactions on the match below:
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) December 17, 2018
Hanuma Vihari has looked like a proper Test batsman. Got a ripper in the first innings, but has been organised, composed and technically sound. India need to persevere with him
— Sambit Bal (@sambitbal) December 17, 2018
— Telegraph Sport (@telegraph_sport) December 17, 2018
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) December 17, 2018