MS Dhoni forces umpire to refer the stumping decision upstairs despite a clear not out during India vs Afghanistan World Cup match at Southampton
There is arguably no one better than MS Dhoni in contemporary Cricket when it comes to taking on field decisions, whether in the batting or the bowling department.
His bang on observations and consequent impromptu decision making skills have been admired by fans and experts of the game all around the world. Even when the current Indian skipper Virat Kohli, has to take an on-field decision, especially for an LBW it is more or less Dhoni’s call that is treated as the final word.
But, since nobody is perfect, even the shrewdest brains in the world have an off-day or two, which is exactly what we witnessed during the India vs Afghanistan 2019 World Cup match at The Rose Bowl in Southampton.
How did Dhoni commit the error
It all happened during the 15th over of the second innings. Kuldeep Yadav bowled a lovely flighted delivery outside the off-stump to Afghan batsman, Rahmat Shah. Shah, just couldn’t read the wrong one from the Chinaman at the point of release of the ball from his hand, and was as a result completely outfoxed.
MS Dhoni from behind the stumps, whipped the bails off completely in a fraction of seconds, and went in for the appeal before the leg-umpire.
It was not as close, as Dhoni’s appeal suggested it to be, and the umpire apparently had made up his mind not to leave the decisions at the Third Umpire’s hand. But, when MS Dhoni appeals, umpires do not risk a chance even if it as bread and butter decision for them.
The umpire wasn’t too convinced with the appeal but such is the aura of Dhoni that he had to check upstairs since he insisted. Although the decision went against Dhoni and the Indian Cricket Team, the fact that it went wrong even after an MS Dhoni appeal raised quite some eyebrows, being the rarest of the rare sites one would ever behold.
WATCH: MS Dhoni forces umpire to refer the decision upstairs: