Rohit Sharma’s dismissal vs West Indies: The Indian vice-captain’s mode of dismissal saw people questioning the decision.
During the 34th match of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between West Indies and India at Old Trafford, India vice-captain and opening batsman Rohit Sharma’s dismissal became a source of debate for plentiful experts and fans believed that he was wrongly given out.
It all happened on the last delivery of the sixth over when there was a huge appeal for caught behind against Sharma. Playing an in-swinging ball from West Indies fast bowler Kemar Roach, Sharma saw the ball going between his pad and bat to wicket-keeper Shai hope.
After Sharma was initially given not-out by the on-field umpire, West Indies captain Jason Holder opted for the review. While there was a clear noise and deflection, it was unclear if the same had come from the inside edge of Sharma’s bat or from his pad.
In the general run of things, umpires persist with the on-field umpire’s decision in the absence of conclusive evidence. However, TV umpire Michael Gough found enough evidence to rule Sharma out.
Opening the batting with Lokesh Rahul, Sharma ended up scoring 18 (23) with the help of one four and one six. Having hit the two boundaries in the same over, Sharma had just given signs of opening up.
Rohit Sharma’s dismissal vs West Indies:
— Rohit Sharma Fan Club (@IamRs45Fc) June 27, 2019
How Twitter reacted:
Rohit Sharma, in the dressing room, is having a close look at his dismissal.
— Mumbai Indians (@mipaltan) June 27, 2019
Did that hit the bat or pad and was it conclusive? @ImRo45 doesn’t think so but the umpire says out and that’s what matters for the West Indies.
— Boria Majumdar (@BoriaMajumdar) June 27, 2019
— arjun rampal (@rampalarjun) June 27, 2019
For once I’m not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn’t either.
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
Was Rohit out? 🤔
— Gaurav Kapur (@gauravkapur) June 27, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.