2019 Intercontinental Cup: Igor Stimac names 25-man India squad for upcoming tournament

Sudarshan Venkatesan
|Published 05/07/2019

Igor Stimac has named the 25-man squad for the upcoming Intercontinental Cup tournament. 

India manager Igor Stimac has named the 25-man squad for the upcoming Intercontinental Cup tournament. The Blues will begin their journey against Tajikistan in Ahmedabad on July 7, while Syria and DPR Korea are the other two participating sides.

All teams will play each other once before the top two going head-to-head in the final. All matches commerce at 8 PM.

Stimac stated that “all players worked really hard at the preparatory camp in Mumbai.”

“We are satisfied with the execution of work for the past ten days,” he informed. “The players worked really hard, and we are all very enthusiastic about our upcoming games,” he added.

This is the first time Gujarat will be hosting a Senior Men’s International competition.

Stimac, who assisted Croatia to play in the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, said: “all our work has been programmed to get us in form for the qualifiers.” 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifier will take place from September this year.

“Once again, I will use the upcoming games in the tournament to have a look at all the players in action. Each one of them deserve the chance,” the Coach explained.

Coach Stimac called up 35 players for the training set up in Mumbai, before opting to name 25 players for the tournament. The 10 players who were released include Vishal Kaith, Nishu Kumar, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sarthak Golui, Anwar Ali, Raynier Fernandes, Michael Soosairaj, Nikhil Poojary, Jackichand Singh, and Balwant Singh, while Ashique Kuruniyan was earlier released from the camp.


GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh.

DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Rahul Bheke, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Anas Edathodika, Narender Gahlot, Subhasish Bose, Jerry Lalrinzuala.

MIDFIELDERS: Udanta Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Anirudh Thapa, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul, Amarjit Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mandar Rao Desai.

FORWARDS: Jobby Justin, Sunil Chhetri, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh.



About the author