mobile app bar

BREAKING: India announce squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

Chaithanya Sagar

BCCI has announced the squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka. India will play three T20I games with the first one scheduled to be played on December 20 at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

The second T20I will be played on 22nd at the Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore followed by the third and final T20I at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 24th.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul will most likely slot in as the openers but it will be interesting to see as to who comes in at the number 3 spot, as Virat Kohli has been rested for the series.

MSK Prasad, the Chairman of selectors was also very confident about identifying India’s long term number 4 during this series, as a number of new players will be given a chance during this series. Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya and DK are likely candidates for the spot.

The death overs specialist bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah will look to drill the plates and trouble the Lankans. Mohammed Siraj who made his debut against New Zealand T20I has got another chance to make a statement against Sri Lanka.

Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat, Deepak Hoooda and Washington Sundar also find a place in the squad, and have been rewarded for their excellent performances in the IPL and the Ranji Trophy

India’s squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat

About the author

Share this article