BREAKING: Rohit Sharma to skipper India for Sri Lanka ODI series

Chaithanya Sagar
|Published 27/11/2017

India has named Rohit Sharma to lead India in the absence of Virat Kohli for the three-match home limited-overs series against Sri Lanka, the BCCI confirmed on Monday.

Rohit Sharma who served as a deputy to Virat Kohli will be looking forward to escorting the boys from the vanguard for the first time in his international career.

The Indian selectors decided to rest the run-machine Virat Kohli and hence this decision came. Earlier there were potential reports claiming that Virat Kohli to be rested for Sri Lanka ODI series and there was no surprise after knowing that he is rested.

Rohit Sharma gains weight on his shoulders as the additional responsibility will see him get into the scheme of things more as a skipper-cum-opening batsman.

Things will be really interesting how Rohit Sharma approaches in the ODI format. He has a tremendous track record in IPL being the only IPL captain to have won three IPL accolades (2013, 2015, 2017) and 2 Champions League T20 titles (2011, 2013).

Hitman has nothing to worry about when the Iceman is there to back him to offer crunch captaincy tips, set field placements and rotate the bowlers at the right time.

India squad for the ODI series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul

About the author