COVID-19: Dutch giants Ajax denied of Eredivisie title, league ends without relegation and promotion

Tanish Chachra
|Published April 24, 2020

COVID-19: Dutch giants denied of Eredivisie title after KNVB came to a decision with 20 teams voting for it, current standings are final.

Ajax has been denied the Eredivisie title after, KNVB, the governing body of the Dutch football has decided to finish the league even though they have recognized the standings as the final.

Moreover, KNB has also decided that there will be no relegation and promotion for the next season and all teams will remain in their current tiers.

The league season was officially ended following an announcement from prime minister Mark Rutte that stated that all matches are forbidden until the September.

As a result, the current table has been made final, although Ajax will not be awarded the title for finishing first. Although, they will be heading the Netherlands’ representation in next season’s Champions League.

This is another questionable decision as Ajax are level on points with AZ Alkmaar, who will enter in the second round of qualifiers. Feyenoord.

Meanwhile, will head to the Europa League group stage as they sat third while PSV and Willem II will enter the Europa League in the third and second round of qualifiers, respectively.

On the other hand, ADO Den Haag and RKC Waalwijk will remain in the Eredivisie will remain in the top-flight after KNVB decided to not utilize the promotion-relegation for next campaign.

The decision to finalise the table was made after UEFA asked the Dutch federation to maintain the current standings to decide which teams are awarded spots in European competition.

The decision was made by the KNVB on Friday following a club vote after the federation stated that it was not an option to increase the league to 20 teams.

Also read: Liverpool set to be crowned Premier League champions after UEFA ruling

With the decision, Cambuur and De Graafschap will remain in the second division despite being on course for promotion to the Eredivisie. As of now, there are more updates to be followed.

Share this article

About the author

Tanish Chachra

Tanish Chachra

Tanish Chachra is the Motorsport editor at The SportsRush. He saw his first race when F1 visited India in 2011, and since then, his romance with the sport has been seasonal until he took up this role in 2020. Reigniting F1's coverage on this site, Tanish has fallen in love with the sport all over again. He loves Kimi Raikkonen and sees a future world champion in Oscar Piastri. Away from us, he loves to snuggle inside his books.

Read more from Tanish Chachra