Rishabh Pant denied a boundary: The Indian wicket-keeper batsman was unfortunate to not get four runs despite scoring a boundary.
During the second ODI of the ongoing England’s tour of India in Pune, India wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was unfortunate to not get four runs despite (technically) hitting a valid boundary.
It all happened on the last delivery of the 40th over when Pant’s attempted a reverse ramp off England pacer Tom Curran. With the ball being bowled on the leg-stump, it had become almost impossible for Pant to execute such a shot.
With him missing the shot, Curran appealed for lbw which was given out by umpire Virender Sharma. Surprised by the decision, Pant immediately opted for a DRS in addition to telling the umpire that he had hit the ball with his bat.
Why was Rishabh Pant denied a boundary in Pune ODI?
After watching the replays, third umpire Anil Chaudhary didn’t take much time in reversing the decision as Pant had clearly edged the ball. With England captain Jos Buttler missing the ball behind the stumps, it had went to the boundary rope.
Had it not been for an lbw appeal, Pant would have earned a boundary as the ball had hit his bat. However, after reversing his decision, umpire Sharma declared the ball as a “dead ball”.
It is worth mentioning that the DRS rule states that once an on-field umpire gives a signal, whatever happens after it isn’t considered irrespective of whether the on-field umpire’s decision is reversed or not.
— Aditya Das (@lodulalit001) March 26, 2021
Coming in to bat at No. 5 in the 33rd over, Pant was playing at a handsome strike rate before this incident. It was only after this incident that all hell broke loose and that the southpaw started hitting boundaries at will. Playing an ODI after more than a year, Pant has scored his second half-century in no time at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium.
Twitter reactions on Rishabh Pant:
Two errors in two overs from this umpire. #INDvENG
— Sreshth Shah (@sreshthx) March 26, 2021
One of those rules that needs to be changed asap. Imagine happening this in a closely fought World Cup Semi-Final or Final. DRS finds that the batsman nicked a boundary but the team is not getting 4 runs cos the umpire had mistakenly given it out. Absurd. #IndvEng
— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) March 26, 2021
Surely has to play every game for India going forward. No debate.
— Ian Bell (@Ian_Bell) March 26, 2021
Pant just makes it look so blimmin’ easy, doesn’t he? #INDvENG
— Melinda Farrell (@melindafarrell) March 26, 2021
For more cricket-related news, click here.