mobile app bar

Most Orange cap winner in IPL: Full list of winners of Orange Cap in IPL history

Rishikesh Sharma

Most Orange cap winner in IPL: Full list of winners of Orange Cap in IPL history

Most Orange cap winner in IPL: The SportsRush brings you the list of the top run-scorers of the Indian Premier League history.

The Indian Premier League 2022 has started with a bang, we have seen some close encounters till now in the tournament. After six league games, Rajasthan Royals are at the top of the table because of their huge win, whereas Sunrisers Hyderabad are at the bottom position.

Apart from team victories, there are a lot of individual awards to be won in the IPL. Orange Cap and Purple Cap are important titles to grab for any player. Purple Cap is given to the highest wicket-taker, whereas Orange Cap belongs to the highest run-scorer.

Most Orange cap winner in IPL

Punjab’s Shaun Marsh won the Orange Cap in the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League. He scored 616 runs at an average of 68.44, courtesy of five half-centuries and one century.

David Warner has won the most number of Orange Caps in IPL history. He is the only player to win three orange caps. Warner has won the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017 and 2019 for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2016, Virat Kohli broke all the records. He scored 973 runs at 81.08, courtesy of four centuries and seven half-centuries.

Apart from David Warner, Chris Gayle is the only player to win the Orange Cap more than once. He won the Orange Cap in 2011 and 2012 playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Full list of winners of Orange Cap in IPL history

YearPlayerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate
2008Shaun MarshPunjab Kings (Then KXIP)61668.44139.68
2009Matthew HaydenChennai Super Kings57252.00144.81
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians61847.53132.61
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore60867.55183.13
2012Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore73361.08160.74
2013Michael HusseyChennai Super Kings73352.35129.50
2014Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders66044.00137.78
2015David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad56243.23156.54
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore97381.08152.03
2017David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad64158.27141.81
2018Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad73552.50142.44
2019David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad69269.20143.87
2020KL RahulPunjab Kings (Then KXIP)67055.83129.34
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings63545.35136.26

About the author

Rishikesh Sharma

Rishikesh Sharma


An engineering graduate and an ardent sports fan, Rishikesh Sharma is covering cricket for three years now after not making peace with a corporate life and has written more than 5000 articles. While Sourav Ganguly made him fall in love with the sport, Brendon McCullum and Gautam Gambhir enhanced it. Apart from cricket, Rishikesh is a huge fan of Liverpool FC. When not watching sports, you will find him riding around Jaipur.

Read more from Rishikesh Sharma

Share this article