Sydney Cricket Ground T20 records: Sydney Ground T20 records and highest innings total

Dixit Bhargav
|Published October 21, 2022

Sydney Cricket Ground T20 records: Sydney will be hosting its fourth international match across formats tomorrow.

Having hosted an Ashes Test and a couple of T20Is against Sri Lanka in the first two months of 2022, Sydney Cricket Ground will be hosting an international match for the first time in the ongoing Australian summer season. In what will also be the first ICC T20 World Cup 2022 match at this venue, it will also be the first Super 12 match of this tournament.

Australia, who will start a journey of defending their T20 World Cup title with this match, have a fantastic T20I record here on the back of winning seven and losing three out of 11 matches over the years.

Loading embed tweet

Set to play a Sydney T20I after four years, New Zealand will be keen to register their first T20I victory at this venue after a couple of losses in the past. Assuming that the same happens, it will be the Black Caps’ first white-ball win in this country since 2009.

Sydney Cricket Ground T20 records (updated on November 8, 2022)

Highest run-scorers in Sydney T20Is are Virat Kohli (298), Shane Watson (186), Glenn Maxwell (182), Pathum Nissanka (176) and Matthew Wade (157).

As far as batters taking part in the second semi-final are concerned, Glenn Phillips (116), Devon Conway (93), Babar Azam (65), Shadab Khan (52), Iftikhar Ahmed (52), Finn Allen (43), Kane Williamson (39) and Mohammad Rizwan (35) have scored more than 30 runs in this format here.

ALSO READ: Will it rain in Sydney tomorrow?

Highest T20I wicket-takers at the Sydney Cricket Ground are Josh Hazlewood (9), Adam Zampa (9), Trent Boult (8), Anrich Nortje (8) and Wanindu Hasaranga (8).

Tim Southee (6), Mitchell Santner (5), Ish Sodhi (3), Shaheen Shah Afridi (3), Shadab (3) and Lockie Ferguson (2) are the bowlers belonging to two semi-finalists to also have three (or more) T20I wickets at this iconic stadium.

Highest innings total in Sydney T20Is (updated on November 8, 2022)

200/320New ZealandAustralia2022

The above mentioned second and fifth highest innings totals in Sydney T20Is are also the highest successful run-chases here in this format. In fact, all the first three highest run-chases at this venue belong to India.

ALSO READ: Sydney Cricket Ground pitch report for New Zealand vs Pakistan World Cup semi-final

Overall, teams batting first and second have won on nine and six occasions respectively. While one T20I had witnessed no result, the last one before the World Cup had ended in a super over. Speaking exclusive about this World Cup, five out of six matches at the SCG have been won by chasing teams.

Share this article

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav