“Not naming the Eastern Conference Finals MVP the LeBron James Award is utterly ludicrous”: Nick Wright believes that the newly introduced Larry Bird Trophy should’ve been named in the honor of The King

Advait Jajodia
|Published May 12, 2022

According to analyst Nick Wright, the newly-introduced Eastern Conference MVP trophy should’ve been renamed after LeBron James and not Larry Bird.

The NBA recently unveiled the entire collection of reimagined trophies to be distributed for the postseason. The lineup of hardware includes an evolution of the Larry O’Brien trophy, the Finals MVP trophy, Conference Championship trophies, and more importantly, the additions of two new awards – the Larry Bird Trophy and the Earvin “Magic” Johnson Trophy, for the MVPs of the Eastern and Western Conference finals, respectively.

In a statement, the league stated why they chose the two superstars from the 1980s to honor with these newly introduced trophies. In an Instagram post, the NBA stated:

Larry Bird and Earvin “Magic” Johnson helped define the modern NBA with their individual brilliance and team success in the 1980s. The two NBA legends are honored as the namesakes for the trophies that will now be awarded each year to the Eastern & Western Conference Finals MVPs.  

Loading embed instagram https://www.instagram.com/p/CddTPS5rpym/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading

Also Read: Looking at modern voting metrics and how it would tie the Bulls legend and the Lakers superstar

Nick Wright was one of the many people who weren’t content with the name of the Eastern Conference Finals MVP trophy. The analyst believed that Larry Bird didn’t deserve the honor as much as LeBron James did.

Loading embed tweet https://twitter.com/getnickwright/status/1524725376399855617?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Does LeBron James actually deserve the honor more than Larry Bird

To be clear, the league’s reason for naming the trophy behind the Celtics legend’s name was not only because of their success, but also their contributions to defining the modern NBA.

However, taking only the achievements aspect into consideration, LeBron James is definitely the obvious pick to get rewarded with this tribute.

Let’s have a deeper look into this topic.

Also Read: NBA Twitter ridicule the Lakers superstar for receiving only 1 5th place vote in the MVP race

Having played 46 games in the Eastern Conference finals in his entire career, Bird averaged a solid 23.4 points, 11.6 rebounds, and 6.2 assists. Out of 8 appearances, Larry Legend was able to lead his team to the Eastern Conference championship a total of 5 times (62.5% success rate).

Whereas, The King appeared in 59 games in the Eastern Conference finals series. And had a career average of 29.6 points, 8.5 rebounds, and 6.8 assists. Bron managed to lead his team to the Eastern Conference championship in each of the 9 times he qualified for the same (100% success rate).

Loading embed tweet https://twitter.com/AdvaitJajodia/status/1524780769167544329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Nevertheless, the association has done a pretty good job with the inclusion of these new accolades.  And in only a few weeks matter, we’ll come to know which players get to lift these inaugural trophies.

Share this article

About the author

Advait Jajodia

Advait Jajodia

A 20-year-old with a BBA degree specializing in marketing, Advait Jajodia is an NBA Editor at The SportsRush and a passionate basketball enthusiast. Advait has been immersed in the world of basketball since picking up a basketball at the age of 9. Excelling as a two-time national-level player, specifically as a point guard during the Golden State Warriors' dominant era, he draws inspiration from the electrifying style of Stephen Curry. Beyond the NBA, Advait finds joy in playing various sports, exploring intriguing conspiracy theories, and boosting his 2K rating to 99. He also holds admiration for athletes like Rafael Nadal, Virat Kohli, and Phil Foden, recognizing their exceptional skills.

Read more from Advait Jajodia