mobile app bar

India’s squad announced for the ODI series against Australia

Siddharth Nair

source :

The squad for the much awaited India Australia series has been released, as the BCCI have named the men that will represent India in the high profile conest.

16 men have been selected for the first three ODIs against the Aussies in the five match series. The first three ODIs will be held in Chennai, Kolkata and Indore respectively.

Of the players that have been selected, Umesh Yadhav and Mohammed Shami make a comeback into the Indian side, while Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested.

ALSO READ : Indian cricketing legend talks about Kohli and Tendulkar 

This comes as no surprise as there was talk that Ashwin will not be played in the ongoing series. Many people have even considered the possibility of Ashwin no longer being a mainstay in the limited overs side.

Jadeja’s omission is more surprising given that he has always done well against the Australians. But with Chahal, Axar and Kuldeep already in the squad, the think tank decided against including the all-rounder.


There are no other major surprises, as captain Kohli will be looking to bring home another trophy after white-washing the Sri Lankans just a few days ago.

This will be a big series for the likes of Rahane, Jadhav and KL Rahul as they will be looking to establish themselves in the ODI side.

On the whole, the squad looks well equipped to face the Aussies next week.

About the author

Share this article