mobile app bar

Virat Kohli creates a record in the 5th Test

Dixit Bhargav

Virat Kohli creates a record in the 5th Test

Virat Kohli creates a record in the 5th Test: Adding to his tally of feats, Kohli achieved another rare record in international cricket yesterday.

During the second day of the fifth Test of the ongoing Pataudi Trophy against England at The Oval, Indian captain Virat Kohli batted well for his 49. Given the current situation of the match, India would have liked him to bat till the end, however, it wasn’t to be.

Kohli might have missed out on his 20th Test half-century, but was successful enough to become a rare batsman who has been dismissed on 49 in all formats of the game.

The 29-year old batsman is not alone in this list. He will accompany his previous captain MS Dhoni and AB de Villiers in this isolated list of players.

Kohli was dismissed on 49 for the first time in ODIs when he was dismissed by Seekuge Prasanna during the second ODI of Sri Lanka’s tour of India in 2014 at Ahmedabad. In T20Is, he got out on this score when Mohammad Sami pinned him in front of the stumps during the fourth match of the Asia Cup in 2016 at Dhaka.

Meanwhile, Dhoni has been dismissed six times (thrice in Tests, twice in ODIs and once in T20Is) on 49. The first time when it happened was only his third Test when Muttiah Muralitharan pinned him in front of the stumps during the third Test of Sri Lanka’s tour of India in 2005 at Ahmedabad.

In ODIs, the first time when he scored 49 was during the third ODI of Pakistan’s tour of India in 2007 at Kanpur. Him getting out at the same score in T20Is happened against New Zealand in 2017 at Rajkot.

De Villiers, who retired from international cricket earlier this year, was dismissed on 49 for the first time in his international career during the fourth ODI of South Africa’s tour of UAE in 2010.

In cricket’s ancestral format, he got out on 49 during the first Test of England’s tour of South Africa in 2015 at Durban. In T20Is, it happened as late as de Villiers’ second-last T20I against Bangladesh i 2017 at Bloemfontein.

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article