Shamsuddin’s decision creates confusion over Rishabh Pant’s dismissal: The umpire took some time before ruling the Indian wicket-keeper out.
During the first ODI of the ongoing Australia’s tour of India in Mumbai, umpire C Shamshuddin taking some time before ruling India wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant out caused a bit of confusion with respect to the decision.
It all happened on the second delivery of the 44th over when Pant’s attempt to pull a short delivery from Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins saw him top-edging the ball on to his helmet before the ball lobbing off to Ashton Turner at point.
With the ball lobbing off Pant’s helmet, it was unclear in the first go if it had hit the bat or not. Shamshuddin not raising his finger initially in addition to the Indian batsmen running a single gave the message contrary to the dismissal.
However, it was at this point in time that the umpire eventually raised his finger. Perhaps, the umpire expected Pant to walk after edging the ball and the southpaw expected the umpire to raise his finger which gave rise to a delay in the decision.
With the right decision being made at the end, there was no ill will on the part of any team. Coming in to bat at No. 6 in the 32nd over, Pant scored 28 (33) with the help of two fours and a six.
Having scored 74 (91) with the help of nine fours and a six, opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan was the pick of the Indian batsmen who were bundled out for 255 in 49.1 overs after being put in to bat by Australia captain Aaron Finch. With bowling figures of 10-0-56-3, Australia spearhead Mitchell Starc was their highest wicket-taker.
Shamsuddin’s decision creates confusion over Rishabh Pant’s dismissal
How Twitterati reacted:
#INDvAUS It would be pathetic of Rishabh Pant if he had continued playing after such an obvious dismissal.
Can’t understand why cricketers have to wait for the umpire’s decision wen its so obvious.
— Darkest Knight (@NoooWhiteKnight) January 14, 2020
OUT! Surely! Umm… yes the umpire finally puts his finger up. Brute of a delivery from Cummins, thick edge from Rishabh Pant onto his helmet and it lobs out to Ashton Turner. Big wicket and India are now 7/217 in the 44th over #INDvAUS #INDvsAUS #Cricket pic.twitter.com/UaEggijxwV
— Cricket Central (@cricketcentral) January 14, 2020
WTF happened there… Umpire has given Pant out… after along time… #INDvAUS
— …Rachit (@rachit_g2) January 14, 2020
For more cricket-related news, click here.