Dhoni calls it correct: Mahendra Singh Dhoni nailed the DRS yet again even as the decision goes in favor of the opposition.
During the fourth match of the ongoing Asia Cup between Hong Kong and India at Dubai, former Indian captain and current wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni once against called the right decision as far as the DRs (Decision Review System) was concerned.
It happened on the penultimate delivery of the 16th over when Kuldeep Yadav had beaten Nizakat Khan with a googly. Just as the ball missed the bat to hit the batsman’s back leg, the Indians were confident of it being given adjourned as LBW.
However, the umpire had other intentions. Having watched the umpire rule the decision in favor of the batsman, the bowler was confident of going for the review. Just as the DRS was being talked about, India’s most reliable man in Dhoni came to the rescue.
With a wicket-keeper having the best view during such situations, Dhoni went against the idea of opting for the DRS. While talking to the bowler and captain Rohit Sharma, Dhoni was heard on the stump mic saying “Mujhe lag raha hai bahar pitch hui hai.” (I thought that it was pitched outside the leg-stump.)
In which was a desperate decision from the captain, he ended up going for the review. The replays confirmed that Dhoni’s call was right as the ball had actually pitched outside the leg-stump. Citing the same in mind, the third umpire also ruled the decision in the batsman’s favor.
The ball would have gone to hit the stumps but with it pitching outside the leg stump, it did not really matter. The decision also meant that India had lost a review.
The same can be a learning for Sharma. Had Kohli been in his place, he was likely to trust Dhoni’s call and not opted for the review. Watch the full video:
— Gentlemen’s Game (@DRVcricket) September 18, 2018
With Dhoni calling the right verdict from behind the wickets, it gave birth to a lot of approbation for him on Twitter. Watch some of the Twitter reactions:
91/0 at 16 overs
Honkong making life difficult for Indian bowlers!
Review lost by India as Dhoni was not at all interested in taking it but Captain @ImRo45 doesn’t agree and have lost it!
Never doubt Dhoni review system#INDvsHK#AsiaCup2018 @StarSportsIndia
— Cricket Enthusiastic (@Kaushik22121210) September 18, 2018
— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorze) September 18, 2018
Why India needs Dhoni in 2019 WC, more than his batting😊
— #FindingGaurav © (@confess2gaurav) September 18, 2018
— yaana (@Vishakha68899) September 18, 2018
#INDvHK hongkong openers playing so sensibly …. Whereas rohit sharma wasted a review even after dhoni said that the ball pitched outside the leg stump ….immature
— Sagar Naik (@__Naik) September 18, 2018
— Sukhinder Anand (@AnandSukhinder) September 18, 2018
— Tyrian Lannister 😎 (@ticks1301) September 18, 2018