Root gets reprieve as bails don’t fall: English captain was seen receiving a lucky reprieve in the first session of Day 2 at Edgbaston.
During the second day of the first Test of the ongoing 2019 Ashes series between England and Australia at Edgbaston, England captain Joe Root was at the receiving end of plentiful fortune as the bails didn’t fall despite a James Pattinson delivery hitting the stumps.
It all happened on the last delivery of the 21st over when Pattinson beat Root all ends up outside the off-stump. With the sound of wood being heard as the ball went past the batsman, there was a loud appeal by the Australians which was followed by umpire Joel Wilson ruling the batsman out.
While Root was quick to ask for a review, it were the replays which confirmed that the ball hadn’t hit Root’s bat but kissed the stumps on its way to Australia captain and wicket-keeper Tim Paine. Root, who was batting at 9 at that moment, would be looking to make this chance count for his team.
Pattinson, who had earlier dismissed England opening batsman Jason Roy (10) in the eighth over, was left wondering with respect to the proceedings which took place in the middle.
Chasing an Australian total of 284/10, England are currently at 71/1 in 29 overs at Lunch on Day 2. While Burns has looked good for 41* so far, Root is batting on 11*.
Root gets reprieve as bails don’t fall:
😱 Wow! 😅
— England Cricket (@englandcricket) August 2, 2019
How Twitter reacted:
Another overturned decision!
Pattinson thought he had Joe Root caught behind for 9 and the umpire agreed – turns out the ball actually clipped the stumps!
— News Cricket (@NewsCorpCricket) August 2, 2019
Sitting next to @miller_cricket doing comms
Pattinson lbw (day one): “Missing leg…” Correctly called, no review
Lyon to Burns: “That’s hitting…” Would have been overturned, no review
Pattinson to Root: “I think that’s clipped off stump…”
Give that man an umpire’s coat
— Alan Gardner (@alanroderick) August 2, 2019
Pattinson thinks he has a second wicket – Joe Root is given out caught behind! The England captain reviews and UltraEdge shows there was no bat… but the ball hit the stumps and failed to remove the bails!
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) August 2, 2019
😁 Joe Root was caught behind off James Pattinson, and the umpire gave it
— The Sportsman (@TheSportsman) August 2, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.