Sachin Tendulkar seeks answer from fans: The legendary cricketer seemed confused regarding a video doing the rounds since morning.
A video of a domestic match posted by ESPNcricinfo has been doing the rounds across social media platforms since morning. The video sees a left-hand batsman getting bowled off an in-swinging delivery from a right-arm medium-fast bowler.
Probably beaten by the ball coming into him, the southpaw couldn’t do much of it. The catch in the video lied in the right bail’s behaviour after the ball hit it. While the bail gets dislodged from its original position, it doesn’t fall on the ground.
After a split-second in the air, the bail sits on top of the off-stump which makes things convoluted for each one of us. As a result, the umpire ended up ruling the result in the favour of the batsman.
With the bail getting dislodged from its position, the umpire’s decision comes as a source of disappointment for the bowler. The decision has become a topic of debate for cricket fans since morning.
Sachin Tendulkar seeks answer from fans
Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar shared the video on his official Twitter account in the evening and asked the fans to share their opinion on the matter. “A friend shared this video with me. Found it very unusual! What would your decision be if you were the umpire?” read the caption on Tendulkar’s tweet.
A friend shared this video with me.
Found it very unusual!
What would your decision be if you were the umpire? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/tJCtykEDL9
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) July 24, 2019
Watch how fans reacted on Tendulkar’s tweet:
Batsman arrested but released on bail.
— Ramesh Srivats (@rameshsrivats) July 24, 2019
As bails dislodged. .it should be out….nowhere written it should fall on ground
— Krishhh! (@Khulatirabbit) July 24, 2019
Out! Bail is dislodged from it’s real position I.e. the groove.
— Sushipra (@sushipra) July 24, 2019
Not Out Sir, though harsh on bowler. But rules say so, The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as complete removal
— Prabhu (@Cricprabhu) July 24, 2019
— ANKUR (@yoyoAK619) July 24, 2019
If dharmasena was there it definitely out
If simon taufel was there it definitely not out!!#ICCRules
— Rajan (@Rajan_hotSpur) July 24, 2019
Out …. Bowlers r always neglected .. rules need modifications to make the game more interesting
— Dr. srp (@Srpmbbs) July 24, 2019
Umpire would give 6 runs to England.
— Prajay Naik (@prajay_naik) July 24, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.