Steve Smith survives hit-wicket: The Sixers’ batsman was at the wrong end of nature before replays saved him at the MCG.
During the qualifier of the ongoing ninth season of the Big Bash League between Melbourne Stars and Sydney Sixers in Melbourne, Sydney Sixers batsman Steve Smith was presumed to be out hit-wicket after him missing a ball and a bail coming off the stumps happened at the same time in real time.
It all happened on the penultimate delivery of the eighth over when Smith was beaten by a short delivery from Melbourne Stars fast bowler Haris Rauf.
Losing his balance in the process of leaving the ball, Smith’s elbow seemed to have touched the stumps from the front angle. With a bail also falling down, it was enough proof for the hosts to celebrate the priced wicket.
However, frequent replays by the third umpire put to light that Smith never touched the stumps by any body part. The bail had fallen off due to the wind blowing at the MCG.
Both Smith and Sixers captain Moises Henriques have got off to individual starts and would be looking to play a long hand for their team especially after they have lost their opening batsmen.
It is worth mentioning that the winner of this match will directly qualify for the final of the tournament. On the contrary, the loser will get another chance to reach the final.
Steve Smith survives hit-wicket
Hit wicket? Don’t think so! 🙊
The wind has just had a go at getting Steve Smith out! 💨
— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 31, 2020
How Twitterati reacted:
Smith ducks, the zing bails go off, but it’s not out!
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) January 31, 2020
Aren’t those bails meant to be super heavy! 🤷♂️
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) January 31, 2020
Amazing scenes. It appeared like Haris Rauf may have had Steve Smith hit wicket…
— #7Cricket (@7Cricket) January 31, 2020
Haris Rauf thought he got his second wicket of the night. Steve Smith wasn’t having any of it – he survives 😱
— Cricingif (@_cricingif) January 31, 2020
For more cricket-related news, click here.