Chris Gayle dismissal vs Australia: The West Indian opening batsman remained unfortunate throughout his knock vs Australia.
During the 10th match of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between Australia and West Indies at Trent Bridge, Australia defeated West Indies by 15 runs to register their second victory of the tournament.
In a match which could have gone either ways, West Indies not playing at their best during crucial moments in the match saw them on the losing side.
For Australia, to come back from 79/5 to score 288 in 49 overs to eventually win the match was undoubtedly a commendable effort. Captain Aaron Finch might have failed with the bat in hand, he was proactive as a captain in the second innings.
The match will also be remembered for an unusual battle between West Indies opening batsman Chris Gayle and umpire Chris Gaffaney. During the second innings, Gayle was given wrongly out twice. Thanks to the DRS, Gayle survived both the calls.
After Australia fast bowler Mitchell Starc eventually dismissed Gayle, his previous ball being a clear no-ball and not being called by the umpire gained all bountiful eyeballs.
It all started on the penultimate delivery of the third over when Australians appealed for a caught behind against Gayle. It was the first occasion when Gaffaney ruled the decision in the favour of the bowler only to make amends afterwards. On the following delivery, Gayle was given out lbw but a review came to his rescue yet again.
Having scored 21 (17) with the help of four fours, Starc dismissed Gayle in the fifth over. However, replays confirmed that Starc had bowled a no-ball which went unnoticed by the umpire. Technically, Gayle got out on a ball which should have been a free hit.
Chris Gayle dismissal vs Australia
Check out “Gayle Loses Review Battle” https://t.co/DummlqNC8C
— Jatin hasija (@j_hasija) June 7, 2019
How Twitter reacted:
Michael Holding is TEEING off on the umpires here
“The umpiring in this game has been atrocious”
“The umpires are weak”
— Matthew Taylor (@MattyA_Taylor) June 6, 2019
ICC needs to focus on improving the quality of umpiring rather than insignia on Dhon’s gloves. Chris Gayle was given out on a free hit ball, but umpires were caught napping. If Dhoni removes insignia then will it help ICC improve umpiring? #DhoniKeepTheGlove
— Ranjit Mishra (@xroad13) June 7, 2019
The ball before Gayle got out, it was a huge no ball , wasn’t called. The ball Gayle got out should have been a free hit. pic.twitter.com/OtJ4ugtKto
— Ghatta (@Kattehaiklu) June 6, 2019
— Preetham Balyaya (@preethubalyaya) June 6, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.