Keshav Maharaj no-ball: The South African spinner erred big time in the penultimate over of the second day at the National Stadium.
During the second day of the first Test of the ongoing South Africa’s tour of Pakistan in Karachi, Pakistan fast bowler Hasan Ali received a massive reprieve in the last 10 minutes of the day’s play.
It was on the second delivery of the 106th over when Ali’s wild swing against South Africa spinner Keshav Maharaj saw him inside-edging the ball on to his stumps.
In what seemed to be a premeditated shot, Ali had to walk back to the pavilion after an improper execution. However, what followed was the on-field umpires calling him back after receiving a signal had Maharaj had overstepped although narrowly.
Ali, who appeared to be in no mood of playing sensibly in the last 10 minutes, top-edged another slog sweep in the same over. As luck would have it, the right-hand batsman survived yet again as even a diving Faf du Plessis couldn’t complete the catch running behind from mid-on.
Having scored 308/8 in 107 overs at Stumps today at the National Stadium, Pakistan have secured a vital 88-run lead which wouldn’t have been possible without batsman Fawad Alam’s third Test century.
Playing his first home Test, Alam shared a game-changing 102-run partnership with all-rounder Faheem Ashraf (64) scoring 109 (245) with the help of nine fours and two sixes.
Keshav Maharaj no-ball
— Pakistan Cricket (@TheRealPCB) January 27, 2021
How Twitterati reacted:
You don’t need to change your stance @iamfawadalam25, but the detractors might soon change their stance about you! Well batted 👏 Always believed you have what it takes to perform at this level. #PAKvSA https://t.co/oSGQEDpcYK pic.twitter.com/6V1peX4JnW
— Wasim Jaffer (@WasimJaffer14) January 27, 2021
Fawad Alam slams his third Test century 🌟
— ICC (@ICC) January 27, 2021
— zainab abbas (@ZAbbasOfficial) January 27, 2021
Every time Fawad plays an innings like this, every Pakistan selector, coach and captain over the last decade should have to give a Tedtalk about how his technique is unsuited to international cricket. #PAKvSA
— Danyal Rasool (@Danny61000) January 27, 2021
For more cricket-related news, click here.