mobile app bar

New South Wales cricket team: Most domestic titles in First Class history

Rishikesh Sharma

New South Wales cricket team: Most domestic titles in First Class history

Most domestic titles in First Class history: Australia’s New South Wales has won the most domestic titles in the history of FC cricket.

Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh are up against each other in the final of the Indian domestic cricket tournament, Ranji Trophy. The match is being played at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Mumbai are aiming for their record 42nd title of the Ranji Trophy, whereas Madhya Pradesh are aiming for their first-ever title. Mumbai has dominated Indian domestic cricket over the years, and their records speak for themselves. However, New South Wales in Australia has won more domestic titles than the Mumbai side.

Most domestic titles in First Class history

Australian outfit New South Wales has won the most number of domestic titles in first-class history. New South Wales have won 47 titles in their history till now, which is the highest by any team in the world. The New South Wales side has always been represented by the top players of Australia.

In the current Australian setup, David Warner, Steve Smith, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, etc are from New South Wales only. Throughout history, players like Sir Donald Bradman, Michael Bevan, Steve Waugh, Mark Waugh etc. have played for the NSW side.

Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar are legends of the game, and they came out of the Mumbai cricket team. So, the domination of Mumbai in the Indian domestic circuit is quite clear, and they are record champions.

The 3rd, 4th and 5th positions are taken by Yorkshire, Victoria and Sinhalese Sports Club. Yorkshire have won 33 County Championships, whereas Victoria have won 32 Sheffield Shields. Sri Lanka’s Sinhalese Sports Club has won 32 domestic titles.

About the author

Rishikesh Sharma

Rishikesh Sharma


An engineering graduate and an ardent sports fan, Rishikesh Sharma is covering cricket for three years now after not making peace with a corporate life and has written more than 5000 articles. While Sourav Ganguly made him fall in love with the sport, Brendon McCullum and Gautam Gambhir enhanced it. Apart from cricket, Rishikesh is a huge fan of Liverpool FC. When not watching sports, you will find him riding around Jaipur.

Read more from Rishikesh Sharma

Share this article