Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni make gains in ICC T20I Rankings

Dixit Bhargav
|Published 28/02/2019

Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni make gains: The two biggest names in Indian cricket made individual gains in the latest T20I rankings.

India opening batsman Lokesh Rahul, captain Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni made individual gains in the latest update of the MRF ICC T20I Rankings. Despite India being whitewashed in the series, their top-three run-scorers in the series have made individual gains.

Rahul, who celebrated his comeback by scoring 97 runs at an average of 48.50 and a strike rate of 156.45, is the only Indian batsman in the list of Top 10 T20I batsmen. The right-hand batsman has now jumped from No. 10 to No. 6.

While Virat Kohli (96 runs at an average of 96 and a strike rate of 174.54) jumped two spots to reach No. 17, MS Dhoni (69 runs at an average of 69 and a strike rate of 115) jumped four spots to reach No. 56.

Glenn Maxwell reaches No. 2

Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who scored his third T20I century last night, ended the series as its highest run-scorer. Having scored 169 runs at an average of 169 and a strike rate of 172.44 had propelled the 30-year old cricketer to jump a couple of spots to reach No. 2.

Afghanistan batsman Hazratullah Zazai being the highest run-scorer in the series against Ireland saw him gaining a monumental 31-spot jump to reach a career-best No. 7. In three T20Is, he had scored 204 runs at an average of 102 and a strike rate of 240 including a 162* in the second match.

Among the bowlers, India duo of fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah and left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya jumped 12 and 15 places to reach No. 15 and No. 43 (career-best) respectively. Australia fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile jumped four spots to reach No. 45.

Afghanistan’s trio of Mohammad Nabi (from No. 41 to No. 30), Usman Ghani (from No. 104 to No. 79) and Mujeb-Ur-Rehman (from No. 42 to No. 40) also improved their individual rankings.

Among the teams, Pakistan continue to don the top spot. On the other hand, India are at No. 2 despite losing the series 0-2.

Share this article
About the author
Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav