Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah dismisses Jennings, leaving the batsman out of sorts.
During the fourth Test of the ongoing Pataudi Trophy between England and India at The Rose Bowl, Southampton, Jasprit Bumrah, who took the new ball for India, drew first blood after he dismissed Keaton Jennings in his second over.
Earlier Joe Root, captain of England, had won the toss and chose to bat. As was announced in a press conference yesterday, England made two changes to their playing eleven, bringing in Moeen Ali and Sam Curran in place of Ollie Pope and Chris Woakes. On the other hand, India fielded an unchanged playing eleven.
After conceding a run in his first over, Bumrah provided India with a much-needed breakthrough. A wicket in the first hour of play would have been the last thing which Root would have anticipated after electing to bat.
After starting to bowl out-swingers to both the left-handed batsmen, Bumrah changed ways as he swung the ball the other way to dismiss Jennings. It happened on the first delivery of the third over when the ball jagged back into the batsman, leaving him absolutely clueless.
Perhaps, anticipating another out-swinger, Jennings had just started to leave the ball like several previous deliveries. Just as the ball straightened after hitting the pitch, the batsman was out of sorts for he had no answer to what the ball had done. As a result, Jennings seemed to not play any shot. The best he could do was watch the ball hitting his pad, which was right in front of the stumps.
After a huge appeal from the Indian fielders, umpire Bruce Oxenford raised his finger without wasting much time. The dismissal added to the misery of Jennings in this series as he walked back to the pavilion after a four-ball duck.
Watch the full video:
WATCH – Bumrah traps Jennings with a superb ball https://t.co/DxJmEGytUM
— The SportsRush (@The_SportsRush) August 30, 2018