India appeal for obstructing the field against Sam Fanning: The Indian fielders didn’t hesitate from appealing against the Australian opener.
During the first Quarter-Final of the ongoing ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup between India and Australia in Potchefstroom, the Indian fielders didn’t hesitate from appealing for obstructing the field against Australia opening batsman Sam Fanning.
It all happened on the second delivery of the eighth over when Fanning played a Sushant Mishra delivery towards the mid-on region. Refusing to run a single, Fanning was just about returning to his crease when the mid-on fielder attempted a run-out at the striker’s end.
Having watched the ball coming at him, Fanning immediately turned around but the process saw him stopping the ball with his left hand.
It was due to the same reason that the Indian fielders appealed for obstructing the field as they were under the impression that the southpaw stopped the ball on purpose and not accidentally or to save himself from getting hit on the body.
After the on-field umpire signaled the decision to the third umpire, the latter stuck to the on-field umpire’s soft signal of not out.
With Australia four down in the third over, another wicket would have seen them losing half their side in the first powerplay. Despite Fanning playing well for his 75 (127) including seven fours and three sixes, he couldn’t seal the 234-run chase as Australia were bundled out for 159 in 43.3 overs.
Having registered bowling figures of 8-0-24-4, seamer Kartik Tyagi was the pick of the Indian bowlers and was subsequently declared the ‘Man of the Match’.
India appeal for obstructing the field against Sam Fanning
— Gav Joshi (@Gampa_cricket) January 28, 2020
How Twitterati reacted:
Very poor appeal from India U-19 team. According to law 37.2, the batsman cannot be out obstructing the field if he is protecting himself from injury. The ball was not going to hit the stumps in any case. #INDvAUS
— Omkar Mankame (@Oam_16) January 28, 2020
More drama at #U19CWC with very ordinary indian appeal for obstructing field against oz bat just protecting himself from getting hit – rightly kyboshed by umpires. Spirit of cricket? 🤮
— ron reed (@reedrw) January 28, 2020
Aussies thought Stokes was out obstructing the Field. Aussies were angry at Gambhir for barging elbow into Watson. But they are silent about Fanning handling the ball and barging into the bowler.
— Madriddddd (@LukaaaRMA) January 28, 2020
Not out the correct decision here. Ball a mile away from the stumps and in any case, the batsman can’t be out obstructing the field if avoiding injury. https://t.co/aRcFoKiNCP
— Scott Pryde (@sk_pryde) January 28, 2020
For more cricket-related news, click here.