India have had the worst possible start to their ODI series against Sri Lanka, with the Sri Lankan bowlers bamboozling the Indian batsmen with some quality seam bowling in what can be called as rather seamer friendly conditions.
The conditions were conducive to seam bowling, thanks to the 11:30 am start, and the Sri Lankan bowlers made full use of it, bowling the balls in the right areas, and asking a lot of question of the Indian batsmen.
The Indian top order could not muster how to play such quality bowling and ended up giving the advantage to Sri Lanka, losing their top 7 for a meagre 29 runs.
Dhoni has been leading the charge for India, batting along with the tail and taking his opportunities to score runs and keep the scoreboard ticking.
While batting with Bumrah, Dhoni was ensuring that Bumrah just had to face a solitary delivery in the over, but in Paritana’s over, Dhoni decided to go ahead with the single on the 4th ball, giving Bumrah 2 balls to face, and while Bumrah successfully batted out the first one, he couldn’t keep out the second one, as it snuck through and hit his back pad and was adjudged LBW by the on-field umpire.
But Dhoni at the non strikers end was quick to go for the DRS, as he felt that the impact was outside the off stump. And when the call went up, the ball tracking quite easily suggested that the ball had struck Bumrah outside off stump.
Check out the video here: