Noor Ahmad mankads Mohammad Huraira: The Afghani bowler dismissing the Pakistani batsman has sparked a controversy.
During the fourth quarter-final of the ongoing edition of the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup between Pakistan and Afghanistan in Benoni, Afghanistan spinner Noor Ahmad mankaded Pakistan opening batsman Mohammad Huraira to spark a debate over “spirit of cricket”.
It all happened on the fourth delivery of the 28th over when Ahmad decided to mankad the non-striker in Huraira while bowling to Pakistan all-rounder Qasim Akram.
With the bowler affecting the dismissal at the right time and with Huraira completely out of his crease, the umpire was well within his right to rule the batsman out.
Despite the mode of dismissal being absolutely legitimate, one fails to understand as to why some sections of the cricketing fraternity find it objectionable each time it happens.
Opening the batting with Haider Ali (28), Huraira top-scored for Pakistan with 64 (76) with the help of eight fours and a six in a 190-run chase. It was a 63-run partnership for the fifth wicket between Akram (25) and Mohammad Haris (29) which helped Pakistan in sealing the chase in the 42nd over.
After Afghanistan captain Farhan Zakhil won the toss and chose to bat, Pakistani bowlers were bundled out for 189 in 49.1 overs. With bowling figures of 10-0-58-3, Pakistan seamer Mohammad Amir Khan was the pick of Pakistani bowlers.
Noor Ahmad mankads Mohammad Huraira
🚨 MANKAD 🚨
Noor Ahmed used the Mankad mode of dismissal to see off Pakistan’s well-set Muhammad Hurraira for 64!
— Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) January 31, 2020
How Twitterati reacted:
— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) January 31, 2020
— Cricingif (@_cricingif) January 31, 2020
Good evening to everyone except those who think that a bowler running out a batsman for being out of the crease at the non-striker’s end is somehow against the Spirit of Cricket. 🤷🏽♂#AFGvPAK #U19CWC @ACBofficials
— North Stand Gang – Wankhede (@NorthStandGang) January 31, 2020
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) January 31, 2020
Do keepers warn batsmen before stumping them? No. Then why should bowlers warn batsmen before running them out. Mankading is fair and square and within the laws of the game. Only thing against spirit of cricket here is batsmen trying to gain advantage by leaving crease. #U19CWC
— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) January 31, 2020
Have never been a fan of this mode of dismissal, didn’t ever encourage my bowlers to do this, neither at the U19 WC nor while captaining my State side.
This may be legal, but so was the Trevor Chappell underarm, right?
— Mohammad Kaif (@MohammadKaif) February 1, 2020
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) January 31, 2020
For more cricket-related news, click here.