Rohit Sharma angry after third umpire displays wrong decision: The third umpire’s decision caused a lot of confusion in Rajkot.
During the second T20I of the ongoing Bangladesh’s tour of India at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot, third Anil Chaudhary displaying the wrong decision caused a lot of confusion among the players.
It all happened on the last delivery of the 13th over when India spinner Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Bangladesh all-rounder Soumya Sarkar. Failing to make any connect whatsoever after stepping down the track, Sarkar was comfortable stumped by India wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant.
However, with Pant committing a blunder earlier in the match, it made the square leg umpire confirm if he collected the ball behind the stumps this time round.
Replays confirmed that the 21-year old cricketer didn’t commit any error on this occasion. That being said, the third umpire displaying “Not Out” sent jitters down the Indian cricketers’ spine. Just as Sarkar started to walk back towards the pitch, Chaudhary corrected the error and displayed “Out” on the big screen.
Been deprived of a wicket in the powerplay, India captain Rohit Sharma couldn’t control his anger post the umpiring error on this occasion. Once the error was corrected, the Indian players were seen having a laugh about it.
After Sharma won the toss and put the visitors in to bat, Bangladesh posted 153/6 in their allotted quota of 20 overs. 20-year old opening batsman Mohammad Naim was their top-scorer as he scored 36 (31) with the help of five fours. With bowling figures of 4-0-28-2, Chahal was the pick of the Indian bowlers.
Rohit Sharma angry after third umpire displays wrong decision:
— Utkarsh Bhatla (@UtkarshBhatla) November 8, 2019
How Twitter reacted:
Have we ever seen so many basic mistakes in a T20 international from both teams? The umpires decided to join the party. Hilarious.
— Boria Majumdar (@BoriaMajumdar) November 7, 2019
— 🌈 (@memewatii) November 7, 2019
— Dilmaangemore (@bekaartweet) November 7, 2019
Did I just witness #RohitSharma yelling ‘ Ch@#&# BC’ on third Umpire’s gaffe?
— Literate Fool (@awakeguy) November 7, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.