mobile app bar

WATCH: Vernon Philander disappointed at Jofra Archer not getting banned for bowling two beamers to Anrich Nortje

Dixit Bhargav

WATCH: Vernon Philander disappointed at Jofra Archer not getting banned for bowling two beamers to Anrich Nortje

Vernon Philander disappointed at Jofra Archer: The South African pacer expected the umpires to ban the English fast bowler.

During the second day of the first Test of the ongoing England’s tour of South Africa in Centurion, England fast bowler Jofra Archer bowled two beamers at South Africa night watchman Anrich Nortje.

It all happened on the last two deliveries of the penultimate over of the day when Archer was trying hard to dismiss the fifth South African batsman in the second innings before stumps on Day 2.

It is worth mentioning that the second delivery was an attempted slower delivery which dipped into the batsman at the point of reaching him. As a result, Archer wasn’t banned by the umpires despite an animated on-field discussion.

While square leg umpire Paul Reiffel had signaled a no-ball at first, he eventually revoked his decision which wasn’t liked by the South African players. Another vital point to be noted from both team’s perspective is that a bowler is not allowed to bowl in the match after bowling two no-balls.

Vernon Philander disappointed at Jofra Archer

Veteran South Africa pacer Vernon Philander express disappointment at the umpire revoking his decision with respect to Archer’s no-ball. “I suppose if you’re at square leg and you call no-ball you’ve got to stand your ground. At no time did they actually cancel it.

“I don’t know what happened but there was a little bit of a conversation going on after the game. For me it’s plain and simple, we’re playing a game and we’re setting an example for the rest of the people coming into this game,” Philander was quoted as saying to The Guardian.

On the other hand, England all-rounder Joe Denly justified the umpire’s decision saying that the second delivery just missed the stumps and shouldn’t have been called a no-ball.

“I was at leg slip and I wasn’t expecting two beamers. The first one fair enough. The second one … well, it just missed the stumps. I saw him [the square leg umpire, Paul Reiffel] put his arm out and I think he tucked it in quite quickly. They [the umpires] withdrew that second no-ball,” Denly added.

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article