mobile app bar

Babar Azam runs in PSL 8: Babar Azam strike rate in PSL 2023

Dixit Bhargav

Babar Azam runs in PSL 8: Babar Azam strike rate in PSL 2023

Peshawar Zalmi captain Babar Azam has become the 13th cricketer to score a century in the Pakistan Super League on the back of playing a personal career-best innings in the history of the tournament. In what is the 17th PSL century, it powered Azam to register his first one after scoring a couple of 90* for Karachi Kings in the last two seasons.

Fifth Pakistani cricketer to do so, Azam has joined the likes of Kamran Akmal, Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan as far as his former and current national teammates are concerned. Talking particularly about cricketers playing for Zalmi, Azam is only the second one after Akmal to achieve the milestone.

Although in a losing cause, Azam’s eighth T20 century saw him scoring 115* (65) with the help of 15 fours and three sixes at a strike rate of 176.92 against Quetta Gladiators in PSL 2023 Match 25 at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium tonight.

It is noteworthy that Azam has joined Australian trio comprising Michael Klinger, David Warner and Aaron Finch to be among four cricketers with eight T20 centuries to their names. The quartet shares the second position in the list of most T20 centuries in a career.

Azam, who was part of an 81-ball 162-run opening partnership alongside Saim Ayub (74), managed to achieve another record in the form of putting together the second-highest opening partnership in the PSL.

Babar Azam runs in PSL 8 (updated)

Second-highest run-scorer in the ongoing eight season of the PSL, Azam has scored 416 runs across nine innings at an average of 52 in his first-ever season for Peshawar thus far.

Babar Azam strike rate in PSL 2023 (updated)

Azam, who often finds himself in the middle of severe criticism around his big-hitting skills, has scored the aforementioned runs at a strike rate of 146.47. Readers must note that the right-handed batter has the third-lowest strike rate among the Top 10 PSL 8 highest run-scorers.

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article