mobile app bar

IND vs NZ ODI squad 2022: Indian team squad for ODIs against New Zealand player list

Gurpreet Singh

IND vs NZ ODI squad 2022: Indian team squad for ODIs against New Zealand player list

Team India have lifted the T20I series against New Zealand with a margin of 1-0, after the third and last match ended in a tie, with both the teams’ score level as per the DLS method.

After some remarkable death bowling which restricted the Kiwis to 160, India had lost their top-3 batters within three Overs into the chase, to find themselves in trouble.

With forecasts of rain at sight, India would have well fallen short of the DLS par score, had their skipper Hardik Pandya (30* off 18) decided to get his eye in upon arrival at the crease.

ALSO READ: Mitchell Santner rues his misfield which led to a tie due in IND vs NZ third T20I

Alongside Suryakumar Yadav (13 off 10), Pandya batted aggressively to post 58/3 on the scoreboard after the end of Powerplay.

Luckily for them, the DLS par score at the 9-Over mark stood at 75, with India’s scorecard reading exactly 75/4 after 9 Overs when persistent rainfall made sure no further play was possible. Resultantly, the match ended in a tie.

IND vs NZ ODI squad 2022

The action will now move on to the Eden Park in Auckland, where both the teams will play the first of three-match ODI series, on November 25 (Friday).

The next two matches will take place on November 27 and 30 at Hamilton and Christchurch respectively, to mark the end of India’s tour.

With Hardik Pandya being rested for the aforementioned ODI series, Southpaw batter Shikhar Dhawan will take charge as the skipper of the side, with Rishabh Pant remaining as the vice-captain of the squad.

While Shubman Gill is likely to open the innings alongside Dhawan, Sanju Samson will most probably be slated into the playing XI after a successful home ODI series against South Africa in October.

Also, the all-rounders in Shahbaz Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur are back in the mix, with fast bowler Kuldeep Sen earning his maiden international call-up.

The rest of the players in the squad are the ones who featured in the T20I squad as well.

Indian team squad for ODIs against New Zealand

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik.

UPDATE: Shahbaz Ahmed and Kuldeep Sen have been withdrawn from the tour of New Zealand as they will now be touring Bangladesh.

About the author

Gurpreet Singh

Gurpreet Singh


Gurpreet Singh is a Cricket writer at The Sportsrush. His platonic relationship with sports had always been there since childhood, but Cricket managed to strike a special, intimate nerve of his heart. Although his initial dream of playing the sport at the highest level couldn't come to fruition, Gurpreet did represent the state of Jharkhand at the under-14 level. However, almost like taking a pledge to never let the undying passion for Cricket fade away even a tad, he made sure to continue the love relationship by assigning the field of journalism as an indirect Cupid. He thus, first finished his bachelor's in journalism and then pursued the PG Diploma course in English journalism from the Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC). Soon after and since 2019, he has been working at The Sportsrush. Apart from sports, he takes keen interest in politics, and in understanding women and gender-related issues.

Read more from Gurpreet Singh

Share this article